In this Issue:
  • Call for CIO Leadership Award Nominations
  • 2019 Award Winner and Finalists
  • Very Early Bird Registration is Open - $345
Call for CIO Leadership Award Nominations
Are you an exceptional CIO or know someone who is? The MIT Sloan CIO Symposium seeks nominations for this year's MIT Sloan CIO Leadership Award, which honors CIOs who lead their organizations by delivering business value and innovative use of IT in exceptional ways. The 2020 Award recipients will be honored during a VIP dinner preceding the MIT Sloan CIO Symposium on May 19, 2020.
Nominees must hold the title of Chief Information Officer (CIO) or equivalent and must be the highest-level IT leader in the organization. Applicants, including self-nominations, are welcome from for-profit and not-for-profit organizations, and will be assessed on a common set of criteria. Recent award winners include:
2019 - Eash Sundaram, Executive Vice President & Chief Digital & Technology Officer, JetBlue
2018 - Harmeen Mehta, Global Chief Information Officer & Head of Digital, Bharti Airtel Limited
2017 - David Gledhill, Group CIO & Head of Group Technology & Operations, DBS
2016 - David Neitz, CIO, CDM Smith

Past leadership award winners and their companies have received a competitive advantage by receiving this award through the recognition it brings.
"It's really such an honor. I'm humbled. I really can't believe I get to win this award and be in the middle of so many esteemed colleagues," said Eash Sundaram, the 2019 Leadership Award recipient.  

Applications are due March 1. Information about the award and the application can be found at Please contact with any questions about the application process.
Key characteristics of CIO leadership include:
Exceptional Communicator – Articulates a vision for strategic business value from IT and works across the organization to build partnership around this vision. Focuses communications on value and innovation, not technology. Helps all IT staff to understand the business and speak the language of business leaders.

Recognized IT Leader – Clearly demonstrates value-for-money in the management of core IT services – providing the right services at the right price and the right level of quality. Recognized among peers as an effective leader of the IT unit.

Driver of Business Value – Understands the business and needs of the CEO, CFO, Line-of-Business heads and other senior executives. Ensures clear focus on potential and realized value in all IT initiatives. Incorporates IT into business decision-making by participating in key strategic conversations, suggesting innovative uses of IT, and for managing risk.

CIO-Plus – Exercises authority beyond IT itself. Considered a trusted member of the senior executive team, not just a technology leader. Suggests innovative uses of IT to transform the business – and successfully executes the changes. May receive additional non-IT responsibilities such as Chief Operating Officer or VP of Strategy, or strategic temporary roles such as Head of M&A integration.
2019 Award Winner
and Finalists
The 2019 CIO Leadership Award Winner was Eash Sundaram, the EVP, Chief Digital & Technology Officer at JetBlue. As a member of the Executive Leadership Team and is responsible for technologies, digital and innovation for the airline. 

The finalists were Gail Evans, CDO at Mercer, Kris Rao, CIO with Ricoh USA, and Aarti Shah, Ph.D., SVP, CIO/CDO at Eli Lilly & Company.
Insights from the CIO Leadership Award Finalists
Very Early Bird Registration is Open - Just $345!
Registration for the nation's premier CIO event, the 17th Annual MIT Sloan CIO Symposium, is now open, with very early bird savings of about 50% off next ticket increase on January 15th.

Join us and gain actionable academic knowledge coupled with real-world insight to help your organization respond to rapidly changing technologies and markets.
Lindsey Anderson
MIT Center for Information Systems Research

MIT Sloan Boston Alumni Association

MIT Initiative on the Digital Economy