NLLD header 600x160
Connect with us
June 3, 2021
Protecting our People, Our Property and Our Way of Life
News from the NLLD
NLLD Leaders Testify before LA Senate Committee on Funding Bill
NLLD President Cory Kief and Executive Director Dwayne Bourgeois, along with Terrebonne Levee District Executive Director Reggie Dupre, testified before the LA Senate Transportation, Highways and Public Works Committee on April 29 in support of Senate Bill 87.

The proposed legislation would give levee districts created after January 1, 2006 the authority to levy a constitutional millage to fund levee and flood protection projects in their communities, just as levee districts created before 2006 are currently able to do. The North Lafourche and Terrebonne levee districts were both created prior to 2006.

Kief, Bourgeois and Dupre told committee members that the measure brings fairness to funding opportunities for levee districts created after January 1, 2006, and that the timely passage of SB 87 is critical as our coastal region prepares for the 2021 hurricane season.

NLLD Executive Director Dwayne Bourgeois joined host Martin Folse on "Bayou Time" Tuesday, May 25, to discuss the recent flooding in Choupic and NLLD efforts to build a levee to strengthen flood protection in that area. (above) WATCH VIDEO HERE

Bourgeois also appeared on "Going Public" on May 25 with updates on the National Flood Insurance Program and reforms he hopes to see included in new federal legislation authorizing the program. (below)
Upcoming NLLD Board of Commissioners Meetings:
Tuesday, June 15, 2021
NLLD Office, 3862 LA 1, Racleland

5:15 pm
Finance and Priority Committee

5:30 PM or immediately following Committee Meeting
Regular Meeting of the Board of Commissioners

Agendas posted on our website 24 hours before meetings.

About the NLLD
The North Lafourche Conservation, Levee, and Drainage District (known as NLLD) was formed in 1992 to provide drainage and flood protection services for the northern portion of Lafourche Parish, including the entire parish north of the Intracoastal Canal.  The District includes over 250 miles of levees and drainage canals, and over 40 pump stations.
2021 Board of Commissioners

Cory Kief, President
Timothy Allen, Vice President
Kenney Matherne, Sec/Treas
Louis Andolsek, Jr.
Rodney Foret
Percy Gasery, Jr.
Darcy Kiffe
Adley Peltier
Elmo "Jay" Pitre, III
Robert Pitre
Susan Testroet-Bergeron
Contact us by e-mail

Board President:

Who We Are:

Dwayne Bourgeois
Executive Director

Katie DeRoche
Executive Assistant

Madonna Viguerie
Administrative Assistant

Arthur Ostheimer
Project Manager

Glenn Bourgeois
Field Coordinator

Peggy Boudwin
Office Assistant