November 2019 e-Notes
MTNA Competition State Results and more!
Congratulations MTNA Competition State Winners!
The 2019 state performance competitions were held October 19-20 at Baldwin Wallace Conservatory in Berea, Ohio. Cole Burger served as Competitions Coordinator, Andy Villemez was Junior/Senior Coordinator, Sun Min Kim was Young Artist Coordinator, and Sungeun Kim was the Site Coordinator. Huge thanks to the organizers and judges, and best wishes to all of the winners as they prepare their recordings for divisionals!

Junior Piano:
Winner: Cory Wu, student of Kathleen Stephenson
Alternate: Mayuka Mizuno, student of Jackson Leung
Honorable Mentions: Kaede Suzuki, student of Polina Bespalko; Jonathan Luo, student of Benita Leung
Senior Piano:
Winner: Abhijit Devalapura, student of Nina Polonsky
Alternate: Changning Xu, student of Nina Polonsky
Young Artist Piano:
Winner: Joseph Vaz, student of Ran Dank
Alternate: Chi Hoi Cheung, student of James Tocco
Honorable mention: Lara Saldanha, student of Vladimir Valjarevic; Diana Chubak, student of Dror Biran; Jianyi Gu, student of Alvin Chow
Young Artist Woodwinds:
Winner: Gretchen Hill, clarinet, student of Kevin Schempf
Alternate: Malia Rivera, clarinet, student of Stanislav Golovin
Young Artist Strings:
Winner: Skyler Covert, violin, student of Joan Kwuon
Alternate: Cher Liu, violin, student of Joan Kwuon
Honorable mention: Juneho Kim, cello, student of Alan Rafferty
Senior Strings:
Winner: Julia Schilz, violin, student of Jan Sloman
Alternate: Daniel Dorsey, cello, student of Sarah Kim
Honorable mention: Loa Cho, cello, student of Amir Eldan

Congratulations to all of the participants in the MTNA Composition Competition!
Winning and representative compositions automatically advance to the division competition. The results of that competition will be announced in the middle of December. Sincere thanks to Jessica Madsen, Ohio Composition Coordinator; Christopher Goldston, National Composition Coordinator; and Ohio Judges: Ellen Harrison, Phillip Roberts and Steven Weimer.

Elementary Composition:
Representative: Samantha Geary, Student of Natasha Pence
Junior Composition:
Representative: Charlotte Geary, Student of Natasha Pence
Senior Composition:
Winner: Lucas Huang, Student of Bradley Sowash
Honorable mention: Pele Carney, Student of Nancy LaJudice
Early Registration Deadline December 5, 2019
The 2020 MTNA National Conference is returning to Chicago, Illinois, March 21–25. With a vibrant arts scene, famous food, world-class museums, astonishing architecture, and interesting history, Chicago is a long-time MTNA favorite destination. 
MTNA has once again put together an impressive lineup to entertain and inspire. Internationally acclaimed pianist Anton Nel and the first-prize winner of the National Chopin Piano Competition will highlight the evening recitals. Noa Kageyama, performance psychologist and Julliard faculty member, will provide the keynote address. Pedagogy Saturday boasts four tracks: Teaching Artistry, Musician Wellness, Recreational Music Making and Young Professionals. And, all the annual favorites like the Exhibit Hall, showcases and the MTNA Competitions will be back! To get the best rate, register by December 5, 2019. For complete Information & Registration: CLICK HERE
New Teacher Scholarship!
OhioMTA is excited to announce its new $500 teacher scholarship for a newly registered member who has joined OhioMTA since January 1, 2019 and willl be attending the MTNA National Conference for the first time in Chicago, March 21-25, 2020.
To apply for the scholarship, newly registered OhioMTA members are asked to submit a CV as well as a short 500 word essay detailing what attending a conference for the first time will mean to them.
Deadline for the scholarship is Saturday, November 23. Send submissions to Peter Oehrtman, VP-Membership. Apply today!
Ohio Music Teachers Association State Conference
Lourdes University, Sylvania Ohio
October 24-26, 2019

(to see more photos from the conference, click on the Facebook icon at bottom of page)
Miguel Castro, Su Han Ho, Yeon-Kyung Kim, Rebecca Konow, Jiajun David Lai, Pui Yee Lau, Andrew Le, Yun-Ju Liao, Brian Shilander, Qincheng Zeng
Be sure to follow all the latest on OhioMTA's Facebook page!