The Little Bookshop

November 2023 Book News

Llama Llama Pajama Party

Tuesday, Nov. 28 at 6:00 pm


Join us on Giving Tuesday, November 28, at 6:00 pm for our annual Llama Llama Pajama Party. We will have guest readers from our community, including the Chesterfield Colonial Heights Christmas Mother, for a special story time.


Wear your pajamas (holiday pjs or any pjs) and get ready for great stories and of course, cookies and cocoa!!


We will be collecting sets of NEW children's pajamas to donate to Comfort Cases, which helps children and youth in foster care. We ask that all children attending bring a new pair of pajamas to donate.


This is a free event but we ask that you register by phone or email so we can plan accordingly. And don't forget your new pjs to donate!!


804-464-1244

[email protected]

Small Business Saturday

Saturday, November 25, 11:00-5:00


This is one of our favorite days of the year! It's all about small, local businesses, loyal customers, and supporting your community. As always, TLB will have fun snacks, drawings, and give-aways to make the day special. Plan to stop by to show your support and get a jump on holiday shopping!

cartoon_turkey.jpg

Holiday Hours


Wed., 11/22 11:00-3:00

Thurs., 11/23 Closed

Fri., 11/24 Closed

Sat., 11/25 11:00-5:00


*Thursdays in November and December, we will remain open until 6:00 to give you a little extra time to holiday shop and pick up holiday orders after work.*

TLB is once again helping our local Christmas Mother this November by collecting new books for kids in our community. Books purchased for this great organization will receive 10% off. Reading is a life-long gift!

Last day to participate with us is Nov. 28.

TLB Bookclub: November


It's not too late to sign up! Call or email for more info.


Crow Mary

by Virginia author

Kathleen Grissom


Historical fiction based on the true story of Goes First, a member of the Crow tribe, in 1870's Montana and Saskatchewan, Canada.


Day group: Wed., 11/15 at 1:00 PM


Evening group: Tues., 11/14 at 6:30 PM


New in Fiction

Available 11/14

Short stories


"A master class in precisely crafted short fiction... Keegan's trenchantobservations explode like bombshells, bringing menace and retribution to tales of romancedelayed, denied, and even deadly." -- Booklist, starred review



"Compact but deep explorations of human vulnerability from a master of the form." -- Kirkus Reviews, starred review


Available 11/14

Mystery


"Fast-paced, witty....For fans of headstrong women sleuths and readers of Deanna Raybourn and Kerry Greenwood." --Library Journal (starred review)



"Effervescent...A delightful period adventure with pitch-perfect banter." -- Kirkus Reviews

Available 11/14

Science fiction


"Readers won't miss the wall-to-wall action that defined the series from its beginning. The characters and the world building remain engrossing and rewarding." -- Booklist, starred review


A TLB favorite!

Available 11/7

Thriller


"A daring, sexy, thrilling novel that may be the most wryly funny book about the end of civilization you'll ever read." --BookPage, Starred Review


"The endless intrigue and surprising twists keep the pages turning." --Publishers Weekly

Available 11/14

Literary fiction


"Cunningham is one of our great American writers, and here is another masterpiece. Day shows all his extraordinary gifts of epic sweep and intricate detail, lyrical language and plain hard words, memory and imagination, love and hope and loss. It does what only great books can do. Read it and be changed." --Andrew Sean Greer

Available 11/28

Mystery


"Wise and winning and altogether wondrous . . . perfect for fans of Agatha Christie, Knives Out, and tasteful whodunits of any vintage . . . a splendid novel to restore your faith in character-driven storytelling." --A. J. Finn, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Woman in the Window


Available 11/7

Historical fiction


"In lyrical prose, Vaz conveys her characters' curiosity about the world's beauty and doles out powerful observations on human nature... Readers will be entranced by this ambitious and heartbreaking saga." -- Publishers Weekly (starred review)

New in Nonfiction

Available 11/7

Memoir


"An incredible and heart-wrenching memoir that ruminates on higher education, class, and single motherhood....as infuriating as it is inspiring, and it should be considered required reading for anyone with even a passing interest in narratives of wealth and work, the lived experience of prejudicial U.S. safety net systems, or social justice."

--Shelf Awareness

Available 11/7

Poetry


In this exquisite poetry collection, Whitney Hanson, chronicles the loss of a loved one, tracing the progression of grief and healing through the lens of music. 

Available 11/14

Biography


"Taylor's deep reading and extensive knowledge of Cather's work, from her poetry, letters, and stories to her classic novels, allows him to fluidly and expertly use quotations from Cather's writings to illuminate her experiences and evolution. ... Taylor's stunning achievement should similarly renew enthusiasm for Cather." -- Booklist (Starred Review)

Available 11/21

Biography


"A fresh take on Confederate general James Longstreet. . . . A must-read for Civil War buffs that contains valuable insight on today's political polarization."-- " Publishers Weekly"


"Tells Longstreet's story with authority and insight. . . . Readers interested in the Civil War and the horrors of Reconstruction should not miss this book."-- " Kirkus Reviews"

Available 11/21

Cooking


"That Time We Ate Our Feelings is warm, cozy, and a throwback to good grandma times, just like the recipes and the stories. Debrianna and Lisa's open kitchen takes you to another world, which doesn't really exist anymore. You don't even have to like food! You just want to read the book. It's laugh-out-loud funny. " -Jen Senko, Director, Author, Activist, The Brainwashing of My Dad

Available 11/28

Crafts and hobbies


"With 56 unique embroidery pieces to reflect the seasons, this next book from beloved author Yumiko Higuchi takes creatives on a month-by-month exploration of colorful motifs that can be used on a variety of fabrics and surfaces.

New in Young Adult

Available 11/7

Romance


"Ali Hazelwood is a known master of deeply clever, ridiculously satisfying 'JUST KISS ALREADY!!' slow burns, and this book is all of that and so much more. Readers are going to ship Mallory and Nolan hard enough to break their sails. If you're not ready to swoon and gasp and cackle in front of strangers, read this book in public at your own risk." -- Emma Lord, New York Times bestselling author of When You Get the Chance

Available 11/7

Fantasy


Master storyteller and internationally bestselling author Christopher Paolini returns to the World of Eragon in this stunning epic fantasy set a year after the events of the Inheritance Cycle. Join Dragon Rider--and fan favorite--Murtagh and his dragon as they confront a perilous new enemy!

"Christopher Paolini is a true rarity." --The Washington Post

Available 11/28

Romance


From the New York Times bestselling author of Better Than the Movies, this swoon-worthy rom-com in the vein of She's All That and 10 Things I Hate About You follows a teen girl who unwittingly finds herself at the center of a bet while working at a waterpark.

New in Middle Grade

Available 11/7

Graphic novel


"I loved this book and found myself rooting for both sisters. I adored their complex, funny, and realistic relationship. Kids are going to love this story of sibling rivalry set in the fascinating world of competitive fencing. En garde!"--Victoria Jameson, New York Times bestselling author of Roller Girl

Available 11/7

Games and puzzles


Now available in paperback, this highly engaging book teaches young readers about great works of art by challenging them to spot the difference between the original and a sly forgery.

Available 11/14

Nonfiction/Graphic novel


In Above the Trenches, author-illustrator Nathan Hale takes to the skies with the flying aces of World War I to reveal another Hazardous Tale in American history in the #1 New York Times bestselling graphic novel series.




Available 11/14

Nonfiction/History


Unearth our ancient world, continent by continent, with this amazing kids atlas. Explore over 40 historical cultures, societies and civilizations from across the planet. Mind-blowing maps bring history to life and show the rise and fall of mighty empires over time. Also discover where the remains of our planet's ancient history can be found today!

Available 11/7

Graphic novel


At age twelve, Sophie learns that the remarkable abilities that have always caused her to stand out identify her as an elf, and after being brought to Eternalia to hone her skills, discovers that she has secrets buried in her memory for which some would kill.


New in Picture Books

Available 11/7

Social themes

Ages 4-8


"The Big Cheese is the best at everything, and brags about it, too. When the annual Cheese-cathlon comes around, the Big Cheese is prepared to win, as always. But what happens when the quiet new kid, Wedge Wedgeman, comes out on top? Is a slice of humility all the Big Cheese needs to discover that some things are better than being the best?"--

Available 11/7

Animals

Ages 4-8


Noodle the pug embarks on a quest to climb comfy mountain in this sweet and entertaining sequel to the #1 New York Times bestselling picture book Noodle and the No Bones Day by the creator of the viral "Bones or No Bones" TikTok videos!

Available 11/7

School/social themes

Ages 5-7


When Lila, a worrier, moves to a new town, the what ifs only grow, and she feels alone and invisible until her teacher finds a creative and kind way to make Lila feel welcome and open to new experiences, a lesson that will stay with her long after second grade.

Available 11/7

Nonfiction/performing arts

Ages 5-7


Discover the world's most famous ballets, including Swan Lake, Don Quixote, The Nutcracker, Spartacus, and The Firebird accompanied by 10 sound clips of child-friendly pieces.

Available 11/7

Bedtime/dreams

Ages 4-8


The perfect bedtime story for when little ones struggle to fall asleep! This rhythmic, rhyming, and calming caper featuring a fantastic magical friend to whisk them off to dreamland.

Available 11/7

Nonfiction/concepts

Ages 3-6


A first introduction to telling the time for preschoolers, with a real clock face and clicking clock hands!

Aren't able to shop in person, or don't live locally? Shop Bookshop.org for all your favorite titles, delivered right to your door! Every online purchase you make helps support TLB, and it is so easy!


Click here to browse and shop Bookshop.org

Make Libro.fm your one-stop-shop for all things audio! Same great titles with the added bonus of supporting independent bookstores!


Click here to shop Libro.fm
Facebook  Instagram

The Little Bookshop | Email Address | 804-464-1244 | Website