November NJSPE Update
NJSPE's Featured Platinum Sponsor
O&S Engineers & Architects is a full-service AE firm providing architecture, structural, MEP/FP, and civil engineering throughout the United States. We have been developing trust, providing expertise, and "Building Solutions" for our clients since 1996. We are proud to serve our many clients in the residential, commercial, healthcare, higher education, transportation, and public sectors.

Deadline: December 15, 2022
The NJSPE is proud to announce the call for nominations for this year’s Engineering Awards to be presented at the Awards and Installation Reception in June. These awards focus on honoring our esteemed colleagues who are advancing the Engineering industry and profession. 

Nominations will be accepted online through the NJSPE Awards website for the following Awards: 
  • Distinguished Engineering Service Award
  • Outstanding PE Award
  • Outstanding Young PE/EIT Award
  • Outstanding Public Service Professional Engineer Award 
  • Outstanding Future Engineer of the Year Award
  • NJSPE Lifetime Achievement Award 
  • Engineering Public Project of the Year Award
  • Engineering Private Project of the Year Award

For questions on Awards, nominations or eligibility, please contact Scott Tasso, NJSPE Awards Committee Chair at
Legislative Update

In a move to enhance structural integrity, the Senate Community and Urban Affairs Committee recently advanced legislation sponsored by Senator Troy Singleton and Senator Linda Greenstein to strengthen the State Uniform Construction Code Act (UCCA) and "The Planned Real Estate Development Full Disclosure Act" (PREDFDA).
Election Update
There were no statewide races in NJ this year.

In the State’s 12 Congressional districts the following incumbents were re-elected:

  • Democrat Donald Norcross in District 1
  • Republican Jeff Van Drew in District 2
  • Democrat Andy Kim in District 3
  • Republican Chris Smith in District 4
  • Democrat Josh Gottheimer in District 5
  • Democrat Frank Pallone Jr. in District 6
  • Democrat Bill Pascrell, Jr. in District 9
  • Democrat Donald Payne, Jr. in District 10
  • Democrat Mikie Sherrill in District 11
  • Democrat Bonnie Watson Coleman in District 12

Tom Malinowski conceded to Former State Senate Minority Leader Tom Kean, Jr.
in closely watched 7th Congressional District race.

The delegation will have one new Democratic member. Robert J. Menendez was elected
in District 8 to succeed retiring Congressman Albio Sires.

There were two special elections for the Legislature. Democrat Renee Burgess and Republican Alex Sauickie, who were picked to temporarily fill two seats in the Legislature won their elections Tuesday. Burgess was chosen by Democrats in the 28th Legislative District to succeed long time Senator Ron Rice who retired for health reasons at the end of August. Sauickie was chosen by Republicans in the 12th Legislative District to succeed long time Assemblyman Ron Dancer who died at the age of 73 in July. Burgess and Sauickie will serve for the remainder of this legislative term.
2023 Yearlong Sponsorships
2023 Yearlong Sponsorships are now available. This is great chance for your company to get in front of hundreds of Professional Engineers. Based on community feedback, we have improved the benefits associated with each Sponsorship level to increase your brand exposure and engagement with the NJ PE Community.
Volunteers Needed

NJSPE offers a variety of ways for our members to get involved including committee and board service roles. Volunteering with NJSPE is a great way to network and meet your fellow PE’s. Each new volunteer brings more energy to the association, more diversity and more opportunities to reach our common goals. Current opportunities include:

NJSPE Annual Awards Committee – This committee administers the NJSPE Annual Awards according to policies established by the board of directors and is responsible for the promotion and administration of our annual awards.
NJSPE Young Professionals Committee - This committee administers the NJSPE Annual Awards focuses on identifying and networking with young PE Professionals both at the college and early career level. 

If you are interested in getting involved, please email
Christina Goldstein at for more details.
NJSPE Would Like to Welcome Its New Members. Thank you for your membership!
Sanjeev Agarwal, PE
Princeton Engineering Services, PC

Nicholas John Almerini, PE

Alva A. Bernard (Student)
North Dakota University

Robert Bertman, PE
Robert S Bertman PE & Associates

Michael Fischette, PE
Concord Engineering Group, Inc.

John Hardie (Student)  
The College of New Jersey

Walter Hopkin, PE
WJH Engineering

Joanne M. Jaeger, PE
Jaeger Associates

Yueming Li, PE
Mercer County, Engineering
Tim Lurie, PE
500 BLVD llc
William Merklin, PE
D&B Engineers and Architects of New Jersey, P.C.
Danielle Pomponio (Student)
Yatish Sharma, PE
Shenoy Enginnering
Christopher Martin Solan (Student)
Stevens Institute of Technology
Joseph Vena, PE              
Mercer County
Matthew Walsh (Student)
The College of New Jersey

Tejal Patel, PE
Jeffrey Laux, P.E.
Carolyn Feigin, P.E., P.P.
Erica Vigliorolo, P.E.
Gregory Stolowski P.E.
Brian Van Nortwick, P.E.
Matt Lunemann, P.E., P.M.P, ENV SP.
William P. Delisky, P.E.
Lawrence Powers
Joe Simonetta, CAE
Patrick Stewart
Vice President
NJSPE Director at Large
NSPE Delegate
Immediate Past President
Executive Director
Executive Director