NOVEMBER READS
FICTION
Michael Crichton:
The Andromeda Evolution
by Daniel H. Wilson
(November 12)

The Evolution is Coming! In 1967, an extraterrestrial microbe came crashing down to Earth and nearly ended the human race. Accidental exposure to the particle, designated The Andromeda Strain, killed every resident of the town of Piedmont, Arizona, save for an elderly man and an infant boy. Now it is back, with power enough to annihilate life as we know it. Fans of the original techno-thriller will not be disappointed.
The Family Upstairs
by Lisa Jewell
(November 5)

From the New York Times bestselling author of Then She Was Gone and Watching You comes another page-turning look inside one family’s past as buried secrets threaten to come to light, with the reminder to be careful who you let in. Soon after her twenty-fifth birthday, Libby Jones returns home from work to find the letter she’s been waiting for her entire life, revealing haunting truths about her past.
A story guaranteed to hold the reader spellbound, with twists and turns right up to the very last page. Readers who enjoy Gillian Flynn and V.C. Andrews will find much to like in this suspenseful, intense read.

The Starless Sea
by Erin Morgenstern
(November 5)

From the New York Times bestselling author of The Night Circus comes a timeless love story set in a secret underground world; a place of pirates, painters, lovers, liars, and ships that sail upon a starless sea. A lyrical love letter to bibliophiles – dreamlike, uncanny, and grounded in deeply felt emotion. A thrilling and absorbing read!

The Confession Club
by Elizabeth Berg
(November 19)

A group of friends in Mason, Missouri decide to start a monthly supper club. After one member makes a startling confession, the club becomes a Confession Club, and the women gather weekly to share not only dinners but embarrassing misdeeds, deep insecurities, and long-held regrets. This upbeat and heartwarming story shows that family doesn’t have to be defined in the traditional sense, home isn’t always where we expect it to be, and the love of friends is all we really need.  
Twenty-One Truths About Love
by Matthew Dicks
(November 19)

A funny and engaging novel about a man struggling to find his way in life as a man, a husband, and a potential dad, told entirely in lists. When read in full, his lists paint a picture of a man who has reached a point where he’s willing to do anything for the love (and soon-to-be new love) of his life. Sure to appeal to those who also enjoyed Less by Andrew Sean Greer and Gail Honeyman’s Eleanor Oliphant.

We Met in December
by Rosie Curtis
(November 5)

Are you looking for a novel that combines the vibes of  The Holiday  with  Something Borrowed ? Have we got the perfect winter gift for you! In Rosie Curtis's  We Met In December,  29-year-old Jess moves to London, takes up residence in a Notting Hill house share, and immediately falls in love with her roommate. The only problem? He's fallen for the girl who lives upstairs.

Call Down the Hawk
by Maggie Stiefvater
(November 5)

Finally, the sequel series to The Raven Boys is here, and it centers on fan-favorite character Ronan Lynch. As readers of the original series know, Ronan has the power to pull objects — and creatures, and  people  — from his dreams and into reality. But he's not the only one with this power, and not every dreamer has good intentions, as you'll discover in  Call Down The Hawk.   
The Revisioners
by Margaret Wilkerson Sexton
(November 5)

A poignant exploration of Blackness in the American South portraying two women in two different eras dealing with the same kind of racists. In the 1920s, farm owner Josephine becomes uneasy friends with Charlotte, the white woman next door with ties to the Ku Klux Klan. A century later, single mother Ava moves in with her wealthy white grandmother, only to discover that her behavior — like Charlotte's a hundred years earlier — puts her in danger. An engaging and compelling novel featuring women who wield power in a culture that attempts to deny it. Impressive and full of hope.

On Swift Horses: A Novel
by Shannon Pufahl
(November 5)

The American West comes to life in vivid color in this story about newlywed Muriel, who escapes the confines of married life in San Diego with visits to a local racetrack. Her story intertwines with that of her brother-in-law, Julius, who leaves behind his job at a Las Vegas casino to search for his lover, a card shark, in Tijuana. A debut of astonishing power: a story of love and luck, of two people trying to find their place in a country that is coming apart even as it promises them everything.

Nothing More Dangerous
by Allen Eskens
(November 12)

A suspenseful, coming of age story about a high school boy who grows up in the Ozark hills and rethinks his understanding of the world, race, and class when he befriends a black family that moves in across the street. The spot-on setting, empathetic characters, and clever plot are sure bets for those who also enjoyed William Kent Krueger’s Ordinary Grace and Hillary Jordan’s Mudbound.  

Mary Toft; or, the Rabbit Queen
by Dexter Palmer
(November 19)

A brilliant fictionalization of the true story of Mary Toft, who in 1726 perplexed England when she gave birth to dead rabbits. An offbeat, thought provoking, solidly written work that explores the human concerns of wonder, denial, and belief and digs deep into the humanity at the heart of this true historical oddity.

NON-FICTION
The Witches are Coming
by Lindy West
(November 5)

Named one of Esquire’s most anticipated books of 2019! The firebrand New York Times columnist and bestselling author of Shrill -- now a Hulu series starring Aidy Bryant -- provides a brilliant and incisive look at how patriarchy, intolerance, and misogyny have conquered not just politics but American culture itself.

No One Is Too Small to Make a Difference
by Greta Thunberg
(November 12)

Greta Thunberg is perhaps the most recognizable climate activist living today (though Jane Fonda is certainly coming for that title). This book compiles all of her speeches, including the passionate address she made at the United Nations earlier this year: "You have stolen my dreams and my childhood with your empty words. And yet I'm one of the lucky ones. People are suffering. People are dying." If that gives you chill, brace yourself for the rest of this book, which will certainly motivate you to do your part to fight climate change.

AVAILABLE SOON
The Ship of Dreams:
The Sinking of the Titanic and the End
of the Edwardian Era
by Gareth Russell
(November 19)

In April 1912, six notable people were among those privileged to experience the height of luxury aboard the RMS Titanic: Lucy Leslie, Countess of Rothes; son of the British Empire, Tommy Andrews; American captain of industry John Thayer and his son Jack; Jewish-American immigrant Ida Straus; and American model and movie star Dorothy Gibson. Within a week of setting sail, they were trapped in the horrifying disaster of the Titanic’s sinking, one of the biggest news stories of the century. This is a riveting account of the Titanic disaster and the unraveling of the gilded Edwardian society that created it.

AVAILABLE SOON
In the Dream House: A Memoir
by Carmen Maria Machado
(November 5)

In the Dream House,  the memoir of National Book Award finalist Carmen Maria Machado, provides a haunting account of her experience in an abusive lesbian relationship. This memoir unfolds like a haunted house story — a floor creak suddenly gives way to a chill, which suddenly gives way to a moan, which suddenly gives way to a full-on apparition. The abuse creeps up slowly, until it's a demon that's become near impossible to escape.

FICTION FEATURING A THANKSGIVING THEME
Get full-on into the spirit of the holiday with these classic picks! 
A little mystery, a lot of drama, quirky characters, and page after page of great reading while the turkey roasts.
The Accidental Tourist
by Anne Tyler

Macon Leary is a travel writer who hates both travel and anything out of the ordinary. He is grounded by loneliness and an unwillingness to compromise his creature comforts when he meets Muriel, a deliciously peculiar dog-obedience trainer who up-ends Macon’s insular world – and thrusts him headlong into a remarkable engagement with life. Read the book, see the film, DO BOTH. Anne Tyler’s familiar world is one to visit over and over again.
A Catered Thanksgiving:
A Mystery with Recipes
by Isis Crawford

Sisters Bernie and Libby Simmons, the proprietors of A Little Taste of Heaven, their Longely, N.Y. catering company, prepare a Thanksgiving feast for Scrooge-like fireworks manufacturer Monty Field and his family at the Field mansion. When Monty comes into the kitchen to test the roasting turkey, Bernie and Libby watch in horror as Monty taps the pop-up button in the bird's breast and the turkey explodes, blowing off the top of his head. Libby fears their stuffing made the turkey explode, but they soon learn that there was plenty of rivalry among the assembled family members, any one of whom had reason to want Monty dead. A heavy snowstorm ensures the suspects stay put as the sisters start to investigate. An entertaining, funny, cozy read with recipes to add inspiration to holiday menus.

A Thanksgiving Day Murder
by Lee Harris
(eaudiobook via Hoopla)

More than a year ago Natalie Gordon went to buy a balloon at the Thanksgiving Day Parade and dissolved into thin air. The police and a private investigator still have no leads. So when Natalie's despairing husband pleads with ex-nun Christine Bennett to help, she can't say no. Not only are Natalie's present whereabouts a mystery, but so is her past. Someone has stripped her personnel file in her old office. Even her husband knows strangely little about her.
Starting with a cardboard box of Natalie's belongings--a few books, keys, some cosmetics--Chris searches for a life someone has tried very hard to erase and finds a cast of characters so chilling that murder seems not only inevitable but likely to happen again. 

Strangers at the Feast
by Jennifer Vanderbes
(eaudiobook via Hoopla)

On Thanksgiving Day 2007, as the country teeters on the brink of a recession, three generations of the Olson family gather. Eleanor and Gavin worry about their daughter, a single academic, and her newly adopted Indian child, and about their son, who has been caught in the imploding real-estate bubble. While the Olsons navigate the tensions and secrets that mark their relationships, seventeen-year-old Kijo Jackson and his best friend Spider set out from the nearby housing projects on a mysterious job. A series of tragic events bring these two worlds ever closer, exposing the dangerously thin line between suburban privilege and urban poverty, and culminating in a crime that will change everyone’s life.
All the Books!
Wednesday, December 4 at 7 p.m.

Join us for a lively “everything about books” discussion! Each month we get together to share what we’ve been reading, discover new books coming ‘round the bend, and what books have library staff all abuzz. It’s a good time and everyone goes home with a free book to add to their “to be read” collection. Come join us this month! Weather permitting, we’ll enjoy our discussion outdoors.