July 11, 2019
REALTOR® Event Center
Lowell, Arkansas
August 1, 2019, 12:00 Noon

2020 Officers and Directors
President: Don McNaughton (By succession)
President Elect:  Mike Warner (By succession)
*Secretary/Treasurer: Chris Demarest (Up for election)
Immediate Past President:  Jennifer Welch (By succession)
Doyle Yates:  NAR Director (Finish current term ending 12/31/2020)
Chris May (Finish current term ending 12/31/2020)
Melanie Silvey (Finish current term ending 12/31/2020)
Greg Spencer (Finish current term ending 12/31/2020)
Chance Schubert (Finish current term ending 12/31/2021)
Linda Hobkirk (Finish current term ending 12/31/2021)
Mitch Weigel (Finish current term ending 12/31/2021)
*Ashton Todd (Up for election for term ending 12/31/2022)
*Janet Braden (Up for election for term ending 12/31/2022)
*Nicki Rogers (Up for election for term ending 12/31/2022)

  *Indicates Officers and Directors up for election

Additional candidates for the offices to be filled may be placed in nomination by petition signed by at least 15% of the REALTOR® members eligible to vote. The petition shall be filed with the Chief Executive Officer at least two (2) weeks before the election. The petition shall contain a wet signature, printed name, real estate license number and contact phone for verification purposes.

The Chief Executive Officer shall send notice of such additional nominations to all members eligible to vote before the election. 

The election of Officers and Directors shall take place at the annual meeting by voice vote, provided that the slate is uncontested. In the event the slate is contested, election will be held by paper ballot. 

1.        Article V, Section 4 (New Member Orientation)
Failure to satisfy this requirement (if available) within sixty (60) days of the date of application (or, alternatively, the date that provisional membership was granted), will result in denial of the membership application or termination of provisional membership. 

RATIONALE:   “(if available)” was added to provide for situations where New Member Orientation has had to be cancelled and the member may not have had sixty days to complete the requirement.

2.       Article XII, Section 2 (Meetings of Directors)
“The board of directors shall designate a regular time and place of meetings. Absence from three regular meetings, without an excuse deemed valid by the board of directors , shall be considered as resignation.  An absence is excused only when the member is attending another REALTOR® association meeting held at the same time.”

RATIONALE:  Language was added to clearly define the circumstances under which an absence will be excused. 

3.       Article XIII, Section 1  (Standing Committees)
Section 1.  Standing Committees. The president shall appoint chairpersons from among the REALTOR® members, subject to confirmation by the board of directors , to the following standing committees:

Awards, Banquet, Door Prizes, ARPAC/Legislative, Special Olympics Fundraising, Scholarship, Professional Development, Professional Standards, and MLS.

RATIONALE:  The board of directors confirms all committee chairperson appointments made by the President. Elimination of the door prize committee in 2019.

4.       ARTICLE XI, Section 3 (Board of Directors)

Section 3.  Board of Directors. The governing body of the association shall be a board of directors consisting of the elected officers , the NAR Director and nine elected REALTOR® members of the association.

RATIONALE:  Since 2017, we have had our own representative on the National Association of REALTORS® Board of Directors. Our NAR Director serves as NABOR’s representative to the NAR Board of Directors and should hold a seat on our local governing body.   

Northwest Arkansas Board of REALTORS® | 314 N. Goad Springs Road, Lowell, AR 72745