Learn all about what the Community Foundation is up to this month!
October 2017
Thank you to our donors!
The Community Foundation would like to recognize and thank the following individuals, families, and organizations for their generous donations in the month of September. Your support is greatly appreciated.
Donations can be made;
 Online through the Donate Now button
Mailed to 1701 N Wayne St, Angola, IN 46703
Or brought into the office between 8:30 and 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday.
2018 Lilly Endowment Community Scholar Finalists Announced

The six 2018 Lilly Endowment Community Scholar finalists have been selected by the Steuben County Community Foundation. Angola High School senior Sarah Brandt plans to attend Ball State University to study Nursing. Fremont High School senior Thayne Camp plans to attend Goshen College to study Pre-med. Prairie Heights High School senior Elizabeth German plans to attend Purdue University to study Agricultural Economics. Angola High School senior Karlie Hutchins plans to attend Butler University to study Biochemistry. Angola High School senior Regan Peppler plans to attend Indiana University Bloomington to study Elementary Education and Special Education. Prairie Heights High School senior Sydney Rathburn is undecided on her college/university choice, but plans to study Finance.  See full release here.  

Pictured from Left: Thayne Camp, Regan Peppler, Sarah Brandt, Karlie Hutchins, Sydney Rathburn, and Elizabeth German
Deadline to Initiate Year-End Gifts

To ensure a gift is completed by December 31, 2017, gifts of stock transfers should be initiated by December 18th. Cash or check gifts must be delivered to our office by Friday December 29th by 4:30 PM or postmarked by December 30th.  Credit card gifts must be completed online by December 31st. Thank you for considering a year-end gift through the Steuben County Community Foundation!
FIST Coordinates Community Trick-or-Treat for Canned Goods
Over the past few weeks the FIST youth pod “trick-or-treated” for canned goods. The pod challenged area schools and went door-to-door in some communities. Goods collected in Angola were donated to Project Help and goods from Fremont went to the Fremont Community Church Food Bank. In total over 50 young people gathered over 4,000 canned goods for the food pantries.  
YMCA to Benefit From Anonymous Donors Through SCCF

The YMCA of Steuben County will be undergoing a comprehensive facilities upgrade over the next few months. Donors wishing to remain anonymous established a fund at SCCF to help update mechanical, electrical and plumbing systems that are approaching 20 years of age. See full release here.
2018 Scholarship Season Begins November 1, 2017

The Steuben County Community Foundation has over $115,000 of scholarship dollars available for post-secondary education through multiple funding sources. Applications are open November 1, 2017 with a deadline of January 31, 2018. 

SCCF manages 55 scholarship funds established by a variety of donors. Each scholarship has varying requirements based on the establishing donor’s desires; no student is eligible for every scholarship but most students are eligible for at least one. All scholarships are administered through SmarterSelect®, an online application service. Scholarships are awarded by the SCCF Board of Directors who use a committee of trained community volunteers to match student applications with the founding donor’s intent. Visit www.steubenfoundation.org/scholarships for more information.  
Endowment Book Updated

Our endowment book was recently updated. The book gives a detailed list of the different funds held at SCCF. Click here to read about all of our funds!

Jim Burns, Chair
Randy White, Vice Chair
Julie Troyer, Secretary
Doug Bomba, Treasurer
Kathy Armstrong
Dave Goodwin
Sherry Holiday
Jim Ingledue
Phil Meyer
Adam Miller
Chris Snyder
Kevin Stoy
Jaime Walker
Jan Williams

President & CEO

Office Manager 

Program Officer

Youth Philanthropy Coordinator 

SCCF Intern

 The Steuben County Community Foundation has a Notary Public on staff.
Contact  Sandy Ferrell  for details
2017 Endowment Booklet
 Click Here to see a copy of the Endowment Funds administered by SCCF. Updated October 2017

The Steuben County Community Foundation is confirmed in compliance with the  National Standards for US Community Foundations. 
Steuben County Community Foundation | 1701 N Wayne St Angola, IN 46703 | 260-665-6656 | steubenfoundation.org