May 2017| Optional Link
October 2017  
AUGUST 25-27, 2017 
The 2017 ISHOF Induction ceremony and weekend festivities were held August 24-27, 2017, and it was our first year back in Fort Lauderdale after being in Santa Clara for the last two years.  It was a great weekend with a spectacular group of honorees, even the tropical rains couldn't dampen anyone's spirits!  Many honorees and their families came from all over the world to celebrate the induction.  We had a delegation of over 30 people from China to celebrate the inductions of Zhang and Wu.  
ISHOF Induction
The ISHOF induction was held on Saturday evening, August 26, at the Fort Lauderdale Marriott Harbor Harbor Beach Resort and Spa this year.  We had a fabulous turnout and it was a lovely affair. 
The Class of 2017 included (pictured LtR): Sono Hirose (accepting for her father Halo Hirose, Honor Swimmer), Dick Jochums (Honor Coach), Richard Korhammer (President ISHOF Board), Leisel Jones (Honor Swimmer), Andras Bodnar (Honor Water Polo Player), Anastasia Davydova (Honor Synchronized Swimmer), Faye Poenisch (accepting for her late husband Walter Poenisch, Honor Pioneer Swimmer), Alain Bernard (Honor Swimmer, also accepting for Honor Pioneer Swimmer Georges Vallerey), Zhang Xiuwei (Honor Pioneer Diver), Peng Bo (2014 Honor Diver), Heinz Kluetmeier (Honor Contributor), Huang Hongjiu (accepting for Honor Pioneer Swimmer Wu Chuanyu) &
Laurie Lawrence (Gold Medallion - ISHOFs highest honor).
2017 Paragon and ISHOF Awards 
Friday evening, August 25th, we presented the annual Paragon awards and other ISHOF awards at the museum.  
This year's award winner from left to right with ISHOF's CEO Bruce Wigo on right:  Igor Burdenko, Ron Van Pool, Linda Paul, "Step into Swim" (represented by Tom Lachocki), Stefania Tudini, Daniel Petershagen, Klaus Wilkens (represented by Stathis Avramidis) and Julie Zancanaro.
Photo Exhibit 

On Thursday evening, August 24, ISHOF opened the photo exhibit: Who Shot the Swimmers:  A History of Swimming Through the Photographic Lens - from 1890's to present,  featuring the works of 2017 Honor Contributor Heinz Kluetmeier.   
 2017 Masters Honorees Induction
The International Swimming Hall of Fame hosted the 2017 International Masters Swimming Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony on Friday, September 15th at the Hyatt Regency in Dallas, Texas, in conjunction with the annual United States Aquatic Sports convention.  
LtR: Grete Peschek, Hugh Wilder, Silke Terwesten, Ed Evelly, Danielle Ogier, Ann Hirsch

This year's class included eight honorees, six of them in attendance: three female swimmers, Anne Adams, Ann Hirsch and Danielle Ogier, all of the USA; two male swimmers, Hugh Wilder and Yoshi Oyakawa, both of the USA; Diver, Grete Peschek Kugler of Austria, Synchronized Swimmer, Silke Hohlstein Terwesten of Germany; Water Polo Player Frieder Class of Germany and Contributor Edward Evelly of Canada.
Tom Boak once again emceed the evening and it was one of the best years ever. We had a great turnout by the delegates from US Masters Swimming and all of the Honorees and their families certainly appreciated it. At the end of the evening, USMS Patty Miller made a special presentation to thank Bruce Wigo for his dedication to Masters swimming and his work at ISHOF, since he will be stepping down as President/CEO at the end of the year and also presented Wigo with a very generous check for ISHOF. 
Tod Spieker's pledge to support
 the "ISC-ISHOF-CRC" project.
History was made at the July 18, 2017 Santa Clara City Council Study Session as SVAI Executive Director, Cynthia Owens and SVAI Board Chairman, Kevin Moore, announced their first major pledge in support of the "ISC-ISHOF-CRC" project.  Owens unveiled to the city council and staff a letter she had received the day prior from Tod Spieker, who has pledged a donation of "not less than $4 million dollars in support  of the new International Swim Center (ISC), International Swimming Hall of Fame (ISHOF) and Community Recreation Center (CRC) in Central Park." It is believed that this is the largest donation in the history of Santa Clara for youth sports  and recreation. The news was received with tremendous enthusiasm, heart-felt appreciation and a long, well-deserved  standing ovation for Tod Spieker.
Mr. Spieker is a life-long swimmer and 2016 inductee to the International Swimming Hall of Fame. When asked by the Mayor if he'd like to say anything, quietly stepped to the podium and overcome with emotion, simply said, "I just want to leave it better for the kids than I had it." More:
The International Marathon Swimming Hall of Fame announces the  2018 Poseidon and 
Irving Davids/Captain Roger W. Wheeler Memorial Award 

The International Swimming Hall of Fame (ISHOF) will recognize St├ęphane Lecat, for his extensive contributions to the administration of open water swimming with the 2018 Irving Davids/Captain Roger W. Wheeler Memorial Award.    Read more :

Chris Guesdon is the recipient of the 2018 Poseidon Award and will be honored   for his high-level achievement in marathon swimming   . More:

Both awards will be presented during the International Marathon Swimming Hall of Fame Induction Ceremonies, on March 31st at "The Chapel", part of the Beaumont Estate in Old Windsor, England.
Dear Friends of the Swimming Hall of Fame,

It has been among the highlights of my life working as the President/CEO of the International Swimming Hall of Fame for the past dozen years.  I want to thank you all for your interest and support of ISHOF and hope that you will continue and even increase your support as the organization charts a new course under new leadership.  Please stay tuned and be on the lookout for the announcement of my replacement in the coming days or weeks.

Keep swimming,

PS.  Now might be a great time to show your support by renewing your membership and or make your end of year donation! 
To donate, 
Milestone Birthdays
HAPPY 103rd Birthday - July 22nd
We wish you great happiness and  many more wonderful days!

New Aquisitions
Olympic Synchronized swimsuit 2017 ISHOF Honoree Anastasia Davydova
Anastasia Davydova
Olympic swim cap 2017 Honor Swimmer Alain Bernard (FRA)
Alain Bernard
Wheaties Box Laura Wilkinson (USA) 2017 Honor Diver

Memorabilia Halo Hirose 2017 Honor Pioneer Swimmer

Promotion: Jesse Vasallo's D-Band
D-Band Jesse Vasallo
In The News
Merck Makes $3 Million Charitable Donation to Support Swim Across America

Michael Phelps Opens Up About His Anxiety Battle in New Film: 'I Just Didn't Like Who I Was'
As We Watch Michael Phelps Race a Shark, Give a Nod to the Original
Olympic Swimming Sensation Amanda Beard Preaches the Gospel of Childhood Swim Education
Greg Louganis to receive Voice for Equality Award in Fort Lauderdale  Nov. 12 at Hyatt Pier Sixty-Six in Fort Lauderdale. More
Hans Peter Sick, longtime ISHOF Selection Committee Member  More:
Quick Links

The International Swimming Hall of Fame | 954-462-6536 | |
One Hall of Fame Drive
Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316