Connecting You to the LSU E. J. Ourso College of Business
May 2017

Applications for the seventh annual LSU 100: Fastest Growing Tiger Businesses, hosted by LSU Executive Education, are now open. Nominations and applications can be found at .

The LSU 100 is a highly competitive program that identifies, recognizes and celebrates the 100 fastest-growing Tiger-owned or Tiger-led businesses in the world. In addition to celebrating the success of the honorees, the LSU 100 provides a forum to pass lessons on to the next generation of LSU entrepreneurs.

LSU's E. J. Ourso College of Business recently held its annual Spring Awards Ceremony in the Business Education Complex Rotunda. During the event, the college recognized outstanding individual students and inducted new members into Beta Gamma Sigma.

Dean Richard White Jr. served as emcee for the event, which was followed by a reception for students and their guests and the donors and donor representatives who funded the scholarships. Shell provided the funding to make the event possible.

More than 40 students were presented with scholarships in recognition of their academic accomplishments at the Department of Accounting's annual awards banquet.

Additionally, Assistant Professor Norman Massel was given the Vincent C. Brenner Award, presented annually to the untenured faculty member who has been most productive in academic research.

Instructor Elizabeth Briggs was named Outstanding Teacher, an award given to a faculty member dedicated to excellence in classroom instruction and who demonstrates commitment to furthering the instruction mission of the Department of Accounting.

The LSU Department of Finance named 21 students to the 2017 Finance Academy at an induction banquet Thursday, April 6 in the Rotunda of the Business Education Complex.

The Finance Academy is a select group of high-achieving undergraduate finance majors who were nominated by the faculty based on their LSU undergraduate finance-related endeavors. Membership is based on a number of factors in addition to GPA, including Bloomberg Essentials Training, financial literacy volunteering, Student Finance Association leadership, Student Real Estate Association leadership, Wall Street Trip participation, professional resume building, and LSU leadership outside of finance.

The LSU Public Administration Institute recently celebrated Barbara Goodson as its 2017 Master of Public Administration Alumnus of the Year during this year's Public Administration Institute Student Association (PAISA) Day event.

Goodson is deputy commissioner within the Louisiana Division of Administration. Before that, she served as deputy commissioner for finance and administration at the Louisiana Board of Regents. She earned her bachelor's in economics from LSU in 1979 and her MPA in 1993.

Maj. Gen. Glenn H. Curtis, Louisiana adjutant general, and Brandon P. Landry, founder, co-owner and CEO of Walk-On's Bistreaux & Bar,  highlighted the  roster of notable alumni inducted into the LSU Alumni Association Hall of Distinction. Curtis, Alumnus of the Year, and Landry, Young Alumnus of the Year, along with four other LSU graduates, were inducted at the Lod Cook Alumni Center on Friday, April 7.

Also inducted were former U.S. Senator Mary Landrieu, policy adviser with Van Ness Feldman, Washington, D.C.; William Shelby McKenzie, of counsel with Taylor, Porter, Brooks & Phillips, Baton Rouge; Jake L. Netterville, chairman of the board emeritus of Postlethwaite & Netterville, Baton Rouge; and Dr. Charles M. Smith, retired family medicine practitioner, Sulphur, La.

Get Social
Click the icons below to like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram.

Like us on Facebook     Follow us on Twitter     View on Instagram 
Geauxing Ahead
The Spring 2017 Mid-West Macroeconomics Meeting will be hosted by the LSU Department of Economics from Friday, May 19 to Sunday, May 21, 2017.

All sessions and keynote lectures will be held at the Business Education Complex .

For more information on the conference, click here.

Flores MBAAA Happy Hour