Client Alert


P.R. Women's Advocate Office Issues New Lactation Room Standards


By: Javier G. Vázquez-Segarra, Esq.


February 23, 2021

Last week, the Puerto Rico Women's Advocate Office published Guidelines for the Habilitation of Lactation Rooms (The Guidelines) applicable to public and private sector employers. The Guidelines, which are immediately effective, require that the lactation rooms employers provide to breastfeeding mothers in the workplace comply with the following:
  • to be located in an accessible area;
  • be private and secure, including having a lock and similar safety measures;
  • security cameras inside or near the lactation room entrance are prohibited;
  • can't be used for other purposes and must be kept clean;
  • must be well-ventilated and include a sink;
  • specifically excludes bathrooms as a lactation room alternative; and
  • contain adequate space, including furniture that facilitates the lactation process like a comfortable table and chair, power outlets, and a small refrigerator used exclusively for the storage of breastmilk. 
Employers are required to have a policy to regulate the use of the lactation room and to keep a log documenting the time of entry and exit of the lactating mother and of the person in charge of cleaning the room.
The Puerto Rico Women's Advocate Office has the authority to inspect the lactation rooms of employers at their discretion or upon request and violations may result in fines of up to $10,000.


Goldman Antonetti & Córdova, LLC stands ready to assist you and your business to adjust to Puerto Rico's regulatory and legal changes. If you need further assistance in this area, please contact any of the following members of our Firm:


Javier Vazquez
jvazquez@gaclaw.com
787.759.4113
Angel Berberena
aberberena@gaclaw.com
787.759.4143
Howard Pravda
hpravda@gaclaw.com
787.759.4101
Luis Antonetti
lantonetti@gaclaw.com
787.759-4111
Vicente Antonetti
vantonetti@gaclaw.com
787.759.4112
Romel Meléndez
rmelendez@gaclaw.com
787.759.4115
Luis Ortiz Abreu
lortiz@gaclaw.com
787.759.4110
Gabriel Quintero
gquintero@gaclaw.com
787.759.4130

                   
DisclaimerAlthough the information included in this document may concern legal issues, it is not a legal opinion or professional advice and clients shall not use it as such. We assume no responsibility or liability of any kind for any information contained herein, and we expressly disclaim all liability for any claim for damages arising from the use, reference to, or reliance on, such information. If legal or other expert assistance is required, the services of a competent professional should be sought.