The 2021 Ray and Pat Browne Award Honoree: Kevin Willmott
We are pleased to announce that professor, screenwriter, and filmmaker Kevin Willmott will be the 2021 recipient of the Ray and Pat Browne Award for Contributions to the Popular Arts . He will receive the award and be a featured speaker at our national conference in Boston. Willmott's current film, Da 5 Bloods, was released to critical acclaim in July on Netflix. His next project, The 24th will be released later this year.
Hotel Information
When you book your hotel room for the national conference, please do so through our designated link to receive the PCA discounted rate.
Area Chairs Are Here To Help!
The deadline to submit a 2021 conference proposal is November 16, 2020. If you are uncertain whether your presentation will be accepted, you are encouraged to reach out to the appropriate area chair for assistance prior to submission. You can find area chair contact information on the area pages.
Featured Conference Speaker: Mod Betty
Massachusetts-born Mod Betty takes you on a virtual Retro Roadmap tour, highlighting some of the best places in New England to eat, shop, and stay. These regional favorites retain their authentic vintage charm and have a step-back-in-time retro vibe. As the hometown hostess with the mostest, Mod Betty will share her favorite hidden gems in the Boston area, with tips on where to get tasty regional foods and not-to-be-missed road trip destinations. From clams to candlepins, beaches to bar pies, it’s gonna be wicked awesome!
Seeking Awards Committee Members
Some of the literary award committees are still seeking additional members. If you are interested in applying, please submit a CV and brief letter of application to Brenda Boudreau at by October 2.

Please make clear which committee you are applying for. Members of awards committees must be current conference year (2021) PCA members. 

  • Ray and Pat Browne Award for Best Edited Reference/Primary Source in Popular and American culture  (looking for one new member)
  • Carl Bode Award for the Outstanding Article Published in the Journal of American Culture (looking for two members)