Open Modular Computing Specifications

Commercial | Industrial | Rugged 
PICMG Newsletter                     July 2017

Distinguished Service Awards Announcement

It is my great pleasure to announce a new PICMG program honoring key contributors to PICMG’s growth and success. PICMG members have collaborated on nine major families of specifications and amassed more than 23 years of Open Standards development for Embedded Computing. Hundreds of people have participated in subcommittees and provided key contributions, leading to billions of dollars of computing solutions.

As Embedded Computing changes and people transition to new phases of their careers, the Officers felt it was important to acknowledge the many members, both active and inactive, who have been instrumental in the development and leadership of PICMG. For our first year of the program, we selected a large and deserving group as our initial honorees, reflecting the quantity of contributions that drive PICMG’s leadership in the industry. This proficient group contains founding members, leaders of previous successful efforts, and current initiative leaders.

Through the end of 2017, we will highlight honorees in this distinguished group, with information about their valuable contributions and accomplishments by publishing monthly articles in our newsletter and on our website. We will also establish a process to nominate future honorees.

I would like to personally thank all of them for their contributions to our 23 years of success.


Jess Isquith

   Initial Honorees - More will be highlighted throughout 2017
Pierre McMaster
One of the founders of PICMG, Secretary and Treasurer from 1994-1998.
Represented: Teknor and Kontron
Joe Pavlat
President from 1998-2016. Leader of CompactPCI efforts. Represented Pro-Log and Motorola.
Dick Somes
Chief Technology Officer from 1998-2008. Represented DEC, Motorola and Force.

Mark Overgaard
Leader of Hardware Platform Management. Represented Pigeon Point and Pentair.

Eike Waltz
US industry expert on IEEE 1101.1 and later IEEE 1101.10/.1. Led CompactPCI mechanical efforts. Represented Elma and Bustronic
Jeff Munch
Technical lead on Com Express and AdvancedTCA. Represents ADLINK. Previously with Pro-log and Motorola.
Kevin Bross
Leader in AdvancedTCA efforts. Represents Intel

Michael Thompson
Leader in cPCI, ATCA and uTCA Backplane design. Represents Pentair/Schroff. Previously with CG Mupac

Recent Events

Medicare Taiwan
June 15-18

Design Engineering & Manufacturing Solutions
June 21-23

Medical Device Development Expo
June 21-23

Mobile World Congress
June 28- July1

Industrial Automation
June 28-30
Join PICMG!    Affiliate memberships start at $1000.00