January 11, 2018

This week's Capitol Roundup :
  • Over a dozen Texas statewide races to be decided in 2018
  • Half of all Texas Senate seats are up for election in 2018
Please feel free to forward this information to others and reply by email with any changes or additions you'd like to see.
Click here to access past editions of Capitol Roundup.

AGC Texas Chapters

Quote of the Week
"I think when you lose, everybody's much more - the mindset is much more, 'I'm willing to change. I want to learn. I don't want to waste a failure.'"

-Nick Saban
Alabama football head coach Nick Saban made the comment last July at the SEC Media Days after losing last year's college football championship game to Clemson 35-31. On Monday, Saban's Crimson Tide beat Georgia 26-23 in overtime to clinch Saban's sixth national title.
Make a difference in Texas: Vote in Primary Elections 
VOTE, VOTE, VOTE - AGC Texas Building Branch encourages all members to register for primary elections and get to the ballot boxes to cast your vote. Over the coming weeks, AGC TBB will provide information on Statewide, Senate, and House races, along with the elections that are most significant to our industry. Please stay tuned...

These are the elections that make a difference in Texas - The vast majority of state races are decided in March, not in November!

In 2016, Texas had one of the lowest primary voter turnouts in the nation.

Despite 2016 being a presidential election year, only seven states out of  35 states holding primaries had lower turnouts than Texas.  While nearly 75 percent of the Texas voting-age population registered for the 2016 primaries, only 19.9 percent of registered Republicans and 10.1 percent of registered Democrats actually voted. 

Primary Voting Deadlines

Monday, Feb. 5, 2018 - Last Day to Register to Vote

Tuesday, Feb. 20, 2018 - First Day of Early Voting

Friday, Feb. 23, 2018 - Mail-in Ballot applications must be received 

Friday, March 2, 2018 - Last Day of Early Voting

Tuesday, March 6, 2018 - ELECTION DAY (mail-in ballots must be received by 7 p.m. if not postmarked. If postmarked by 7 p.m. at election location on election day, then mail-in ballots may be received no later than 5 p.m. on March 7)

How do I know if I'm registered?

You can confirm your registration status on this website by going to Am I Registered? where you will select one of three methods for conducting your search. You can base your search on: 1. your Voter Unique Identifier (VUID), which appears on your voter registration certificate; 2. your Texas driver's license number, if you provided it when you applied for voter registration; or 3. your first and last name. Or, you can call the voter registrar's office in the county where you reside.

How to register?

You can obtain a voter registration application from your voter registrar's office, libraries, most post offices, and high schools. You can also fill out a voter registration application online or request a postage-paid application be mailed to you.

When does my registration become effective?

Your voter registration becomes effective 30 days after it is submitted (and accepted*) by the county voter registrar. The county office will then put your name on the voter registration list, generate your voter certificate, and mail it to you. Once received, be sure to read the information on the back of the certificate, sign by the X on the "front" of the card (the blue area) and keep your voter card in a safe place.
*If your original application is missing required information, you will receive a notice in the mail and have a deadline to respond to the notice.

Click here for more answers to frequently asked questions about voter registration.
Statewide Elections: Governor and a dozen other seats are up for election in 2018 

The offices of governor, lieutenant governor, comptroller, and several other statewide offices - including a U.S. Senate seat and all Congressional seats - will be decided in the 2018 elections. 

Here is a comprehensive list of statewide elected officials (not including U.S. House and Senate) facing primary challengers in 2018. PRIMARY ELECTIONS ARE MARCH 6. 


Two Republicans have filed to run against Gov. Greg Abbott, while 10 Democrats are running for the other major primary position. 


Lieutenant Dan Patrick will face a single Republican challenger, and two Democrats are running in the primaries. 


No Republicans are running against Comptroller Glenn Hegar in the primaries, while two Democrats are running in the primaries. 


Commissioner George P. Bush faces three Republican primary opponents, while the Democrats are running two primary candidates for the position.


Commissioner Sid Miller will face a Republican challenger, and two Democrats are running in the primaries. 


Commissioner Christi Craddick has a single Republican primary opponent, and two Democrats are running in the primaries. 
Texas Senate: Half of all offices are up for election 

Fifteen out of 31 State Senate positions are up for grabs this election cycle. Every single race except one will include an incumbent candidate (11 Republican incumbents, 3 Democrat incumbents, and one open seat).

The following are all of the candidates in primary election races for the 2018 Texas Senate. PRIMARY ELECTIONS ARE MARCH 6. 


District 5 - Republican Sen. Charles Schwertner has one primary opponent in Harold Ramm. Three Democrats - Brian Cronin, Glenn Williams, and Meg Walsh - are also in the primaries. 


District 15 - Democrat Sen. John Whitmire has two primary opponents in Damian Lacroix and Hank Segelke.

District 17 - Republican Sen. Joan Huffman will face Kristin Tassin in the GOP primary. Three candidates - Ahmad Hassan, Fran Watson, and Rita Lucido - will run in the Democrat primary.


District 31 - Republican Sen. Kel Seliger will face two primary challengers - Mike Canon and Victor Leal. 


District 25 - Republican Sen. Donna Campbell faces a single primary opponent in Shannon McClendon, while two Democrats will run in that primary - Jack Guerra and Steven Kling. 


District 2 - Republican Sen. Bob Hall faces a primary challenger in Cindy Burkett.

District 8 - This seat has been vacated by Republican Sen. Van Taylor. Two Republicans - Angela Paxton and Phillip Huffines - will face off in the primary, and two Democrats will also run in the primary - Brian Chaput and Mark Phariss. 

District 10 - Republican Sen. Konni Burton has no primary challenger and will face in November the winner of the Democrat primary between Allison Campolo and Beverly Powell. 

District 16Republican Sen. Don Huffines has no primary challenger and will face in November the winner of the Democrat primary between Joe Bogen and Nathan Johnson.

District 30 - Republican Sen. Craig Estes will face two primary challengers - Craig Carter and Pat Fallon.


District 30 - Republican Sen. Craig Estes will face two primary challengers - Craig Carter and Pat Fallon. 

District 31 - Republican Sen. Kel Seliger will face two primary challengers - Mike Canon and Victor Leal.

19 - AGC TBB Board Meeting - Austin AGC Office

20 - AGC TBB Board Meeting - Austin AGC Office

6-9 - AGC TBB Convention at  Nemacolin Woodlands Resort (Farmington, PA)

21 - AGC TBB Board Meeting - Austin AGC Office

16 - AGC TBB Board Meeting - Austin AGC Office