In This Issue

Pacific States Marine Fisheries Commission





Pacific Fisheries Information Network




The FIN newsletter is published periodically by the Pacific States Marine Fisheries Commission.

Email us with story ideas, questions, and comments. 

Editor for this issue:
Jason Edwards, RecFIN
jedwards@psmfc.org

FIN staff

Bob Ryznar, FIN Program Manager
rryznar@psmfc.org

Rob Ames, AKFIN/PacFIN/RecFIN 
rames@psmfc.org

Michael Fey, AKFIN
mfey@psmfc.org

Yan Jiang, PacFIN
yjiang@psmfc.org

Jean Lee, AKFIN
jean.lee@noaa.gov

Niels Leuthold, AKFIN/PacFIN
nleuthold@psmfc.org

Brad Stenberg, PacFIN
bstenberg@psmfc.org

Jenny Suter, PacFIN
jsuter@psmfc.org

Other contributors for this issue

Camille Kohler, neXus Data Solutions

Rick Pannell, Resource Data, Inc.

Abigail Harley, NOAA Fisheries

Amber Rhodes, NOAA Fisheries


A fisheries data project of the Pacific States Marine Fisheries Commission

205 SE Spokane Street, Suite 100 Portland, OR 97202

Pacific States Marine Fisheries Commission
Web services (or web APIs) provide advantages over other applications to access data stored within the FIN databases. The FIN programs have recently developed web service tools to allow data users to more easily access information and automate data analyses and visualizations. FIN web services are already being used by scientists at the AFSC, demonstrating the potential utility to other FIN data users.
The Marine Recreational Information Program’s Modern Fish Act investment funds will support regional data collection priorities and the implementation of specialized state surveys.
Due to continuing concerns regarding COVID-19, the RecFIN Technical Committee will hold its Fall meeting via webinar in early October, 2020. This meeting provides RecFIN the opportunity to meet with its partner agencies to discuss recent and ongoing RecFIN projects and future directions for the program.
A fisheries data project of the Pacific States Marine Fisheries Commission
205 SE Spokane Street, Suite 100 Portland, OR 97202