The Library will be closed Monday, September 7th in observance of Labor Day.

The Library will resume Grab and Go and Appointment hours beginning Tuesday, September 8th.

As always, our online library of ebooks and eaudio is available 24/7.
LIBRARY PROGRAMS
September 2nd, 7:00 p.m.

Register to read with a librarian. Each child will receive their own 20 minute appointment to read one on one via Zoom. A great way to build confidence and increase fluency. Sign up each week for a slot, families with multiple readers sign up each reader individually.
Family Fun Storytime at the Park

Get the whole family together because all ages will have fun at the park with stories, music, and some dancing.

Meeting at Converse Park
628 E State Rd, Island Lake, IL 60042
Weather permitting

Registration Required
Please register for only one storytime per week. Repeated Tuesday & Thursday.

Masks and social distancing are required for anyone aged 2 and over for the safety and enjoyment of everyone.
Thursday, September 3, 7:00 p.m.

Join us for a fun, lively book chat from the comfort of your own home. We’ll discuss what books we’re enjoying, which books we aren’t, and what we’re reading next. Discover “new to you" books from other readers as well as a rundown of new books hitting the library shelves in September. Cozy up and join us!
READING RECOMMENDATIONS
by Lisa Duffy

Submitted by Kelly K.
This is kind of story you savor – an intricate plot of human beings that you care about, reminiscent of the TV Show This is Us
Set in New England on an island, families blend and friends help each other through grief, conflict, and misunderstandings, ultimately ending on a hopeful note. 

Fans of Elizabeth Straub and Elin Hilderbrand will likely enjoy this book.
by Alex Trebek

Submitted by Molly J.
Many know and love Alex Trebek for his work hosting Jeopardy! since 1984. Over the years we’ve learned bits and pieces about his life through his hosting. This book is his first and only memoir. I had no idea that Alex Trebek swears like a sailor, is a handyman around the house, and has been married twice. Long heckled for years to write about his life, I think his cancer diagnosis pushed him over the edge to leave his fans, family, and friends able to cherish some of his memories. If you can get the audiobook from the library’s Overdrive collection or on CD, I highly recommend it. Trebek narrates much of it but it is primarily read by Ken Jennings, also of Jeopardy! fame.
by Kristina Forest

Submitted by Emily D.
Looking for a light, cute, romcom?
Chloe is a passionate ballet dancer looking to get into a New York City dance conservatory after recovering from a major injury. While her mom is out of town Chloe takes a road trip to audition for the school...but gets caught leaving by her annoying neighbor. He agrees to keep quiet if she brings him (and his dog) along so he can visit his dad.
A classic "enemies to more" with a healthy dose of chasing your dreams.
For fans of Sarah Dessen and Morgan Matson.
by Alexandra Diaz

Submitted by Stefanie M.
Jaime and his cousin Angela must leave their small town life in Guatemala to escape the wrath of a murderous gang called the Alphas, and make a treacherous journey through Mexico and across the border to New Mexico to find safety with Jaime’s brother, Tomas. With their lives threatened at every turn, will they beat the odds and find refuge at the end of their journey? A gut-wrenching story that should be required reading for everyone.

Recommended for grades 5+
by Alison Farrell

Submitted by Kelly F.
Go on a hike in the Pacific Northwest with three adventurous girls and their dog Bean. The girls are adept at map reading, sketching, and keen observation. Their hike is a day-long journey to a mountain summit with surprises around each bend in the trail from berries, to birds, to waterfalls. This lovely picture book doubles as a nature guide and is filled with beautiful illustrations.
by Deborah Underwood

Submitted by Kristen G.
Finding Kindness is a terrific book that helps kids understand how being kind is a wonderful attribute. Kindness can come in many forms including raking a neighbor’s yard, sharing a snack, or even sitting with someone who is sad. Children will love learning the various ways on how to find kindness in their everyday lives!
HIGHLIGHTS OF THE WEEK
Book Up

Don’t know what to read? Would you like new books picked for you each month? Book Up is here to help! Sign up for book up and work with our collection staff to get new items placed on hold for you monthly, weekly, or seasonally!

Tired of keeping up with your favorite authors but hate to miss their new books? Join Author Match to be automatically placed on hold for your favorite authors!

Provides ratings, reviews, recommendations and buying advice for cars, appliances, electronics, home and garden, baby products, and more.

Follow us on our social media!