October 2016  
2016 Newly Licensed Architects

Congratulations again to all of the newly licensed Louisiana architects.

Elizabeth Brooks, Liz Swaine Received Patron of Architecture Awards

Liz Swaine
Elizabeth EB Brooks
Elizabeth "EB" Brooks of Lafayette and Liz Swaine of Shreveport received Patron of Architecture Awards from the Louisiana Architectural Foundation on September 9. The awards were given during the American Institute of Architects Louisiana Chapter (AIA LA) Awards Banquet, held in conjunction with its annual Design Conference in Lafayette.

Brooks received the Patron of Architecture Award for her significant and passionate commitment to the preservation of green space and quality of life through better urban planning in Lafayette and Acadiana, and her encouragement and promotion of public understanding and appreciation for architecture and community planning in Louisiana. Read More
Teeny Simmons and Kathleen Gordon Receive Presidential Citations 

Kathleen Gordon, Assoc. AIA and Ron Martinez, AIA
Mary "Teeny" Simmons, the long-time executive director of the Louisiana State Board of Architectural Examiners, and Kathleen Gordon, AIA Baton Rouge Executive Director, received Presidential Citations from the American Institute of Architects Louisiana Chapter at its annual Design Conference Awards Banquet, held in Lafayette on September 9.
Simmons is retiring from her position after 39 years of service. The citation recognized her "selfless and outstanding service to the architectural profession, while touching the lives of thousands of architects throughout the country with her boundless energy, innovative ideas and steady and knowledgeable presence." She has earned numerous honors during her tenure, including the National Council of Architectural Registration Board's President's Medal. (Teeny was unable to be present at the luncheon.)
Gordon was honored for her leadership in guiding her chapter and mastering enormous challenges in the aftermath of the 2016 flood. Working in close collaboration with her AIA counterparts at the national and state levels, she coordinated relief and recovery efforts for AIA members and their communities with calm determination, compassion and remarkable grace under pressure.
The Presidential Citations were awarded by Ron Martinez, AIA, president of the AIA LA Board of Directors. 
David Waggonner, FAIA, Receives AIA LA Medal of Honor 

Ray Manning, FAIA; David Waggonner, FAIA; and Cliffe Laborde
David Waggonner, FAIA, a principal in the architectural firm of Waggonner & Ball in New Orleans, received the highest honor given by the American Institute of Architects Louisiana Chapter (AIA LA) on September 9.
He was honored with the prestigious 2016 Medal of Honor during the AIA LA Awards Banquet, held in conjunction with its annual Design Conference in Lafayette. The award is given by the AIA LA Board of Directors to recognize significant and enduring contributions to the advancement of architecture and influence on architects in Louisiana. Read More

Professional Achievement Award Winners 

The Professional Achievement Award recognizes a person or group who has demonstrated  outstanding leadership, dedication, and commitment  to the growth and development of AIA and his/her community while making significant contributions to the profession in the early stage of his/her architectural career. This year's award was given to a team of emerging professionals and associates who comprised the talented group that created the 10 Years/10 Stories exhibit  for the 10th anniversary of Hurricane Katrina. The group was comprised of Jose Alvarez, AIA; Mary Bullock, Assoc. AIA; Amy Garret, Assoc. AIA; Mary Gilmore, AIA; Gretchen Gottfried, Assoc. AIA; Amanda Rivera, AIA; Miriam Salas, AIA; Janina Scalfano, AIA; Thom Smith, AIA; Jordan Stewart, RA and Chuck Perret, Owner and financial contributor, Lettermans Blueprint and Supply Company.
Read More

Quick Links