Media Contact:
Sean Liphard
Communications Manager
561.818.8050 cell
CFVI Awards $162,631 in Scholarships to 57 Virgin Islands Students

The Foundation has distributed more than $3.4 million in scholarships since 1996
U.S. Virgin Islands, August 2, 2022  The Community Foundation of the Virgin Islands (CFVI) is pleased to announce that it has awarded $162,131 in scholarships to 57 Virgin Islands students for its 2022-23 academic scholarship cycle. Applications were submitted by a competitive applicant pool of 175 students. Award recipients were selected by a review committee of more than 20 individuals who reviewed materials and made recommendations based on the specific criteria for each scholarship.

PHOTO CAPTION: Amira Claxton of St. Croix is a junior majoring in mathematics at the University of Tampa. She was awarded one of the $2,500 Next Generation Scholar Awards.

Undergraduate Scholarships
  • Alexander A. Farrelly Scholarship ($2,500 each) – Annella Durand, Kiani Garib
  • Anna Green Walsh Scholar Award ($2,500 each) – Karim Henry, Jada Joseph, Michelle Laudat, Michelle Pemberton
  • Artrelle M. Wheatley Scholarship ($4,631) – La'Monee' Morris
  • Blackhall Family Scholarship - construction field ($2,500 each) Khalil Lockhart, Michael Louis, D'Nari Smith
  • CAHS Class of 1951 Scholarship ($2,500) – AnnaLee Vincent
  • Coral World Scholarship ($2,500) – Eurnett Christopher
  • David O’Connell Accounting Scholarship ($2,500 each) – Radiance Peets, Demi Trimm
  • Estelle Parrott Scholar Award ($1,000) – Denny Gonzalez
  • Falek Family Scholarship ($2,500 each) Monae Edmead, Adrian Mercedes Manzanillo
  • Heavy Materials Scholarship ($2,500 each) – Nouzie Aubin, Shneideur Bredy, Sanaa Burke, Mila Carty, Danesha Derima, Elayna Joseph, Maat Osuji, Tori Scott, Tyreka Wilkes, Amya Withey
  • Isaac and Rebecca Paiewonsky Scholarship ($2,000 each, renewable for four years) – Yenique Mason, Shande Rivera, Kaija Edwards, Monae Edmead
  • Jaci and Jerry Silverberg Trumpet Award ($2,500) Nayeli O'Shaughnessy
  • Judy and Scott Barber Family Scholarship ($2,500) – Shania Nieves
  • Junior Angels Scholarship ($2,500) – Princess Atemazem
  • Lana Vento Charitable Trust Scholarship ($2,500 each) – Amber Alcindor, Estelle Jules, Tsamara Roberts, Jenisha Stapleton
  • Milan & Aliki Glumidge Memorial Scholarship ($2,500) Kaija Edwards
  • Next Generation Scholar Scholarship ($2,500 each) Amira Claxton, Briana Cromwell, Taysjah Heidmann, V'Andre Rochester
  • Prior Family Foundation Performing Arts Scholarship ($2,500) JahQuan Richards
  • Real Impact Corporation Scholarship ($2,500 each) J'Mari Clarke, Ahkayla Petersen
  • Secret Harbour Scholarship ($3,000 each) Omahri N. Allamby, Amber Clark, Nichel Daniel, Dai'sha Webster
  • Theodore E. Sharp Scholar Award ($5,000 each) Deonte William, D'Shae Xavier
  • Tunick Family Fund Scholarship ($2,500) Shakari Brooks
  • Universal Business Supplies Scholarship ($2,500) Aniis Lester
  • Whitley E.A. Williams Scholarship ($2,000) Jean-R Apollon

Graduate Scholarships
  • CAHS Physician Alumni Fund Scholarship ($5,000 each) Aisha Griffin, LeAnn Horsford
  • J. Raymond Jones Scholarship ($2,500) Makeda Mills
  • Librarian Legacy Scholarship ($5,000) Twanna Hodge
  • NSL Graduate Studies Fund Scholarship ($2,500) Ojuwa Lewis

“At CFVI, we are committed to fulfilling our mission of enhancing the quality of life for children, youth, and families in the territory, and ultimately, that's exactly what these scholarships do," said Kafi Blumenfield, Chair of CFVI’s Scholarship Committee and member of the CFVI Board of Directors. "Since 1996, CFVI has provided more than $3.4 million in scholarships to talented and dedicated Virgin Islands students. We congratulate each and every one of this year's deserving scholarship recipients and are deeply grateful to our volunteer review committee for their time and dedication," she said.

“The Foundation is proud to have supported the educational goals of Virgin Islands students for the past 26 years, and we look forward to working with our wonderful donors and students in years to come," said CFVI President Dee Baecher-Brown. 

Amira Claxton, a junior mathematics major at the University of Tampa, received one of the Next Generation Scholar awards for $2,500. "My goal is to become a professor of mathematics and one day teach at the illustrious University of the Virgin Islands," she said. "Receiving this scholarship means more to me than I can ever express in words."

Families, organizations, or businesses interested in providing scholarships next year can establish a scholarship fund at the Foundation. The scholarship application, review, and award process is managed by CFVI. Email for more information.

About the Community Foundation of the Virgin Islands
Since 1990, the Community Foundation of the Virgin Islands (CFVI) has been a catalyst for positive change in the Territory through initiatives committed to youth, learning, family support and the environment. With a professional staff and a volunteer Board of Directors composed of community leaders, CFVI is a trusted advocate and supporter of programs that ensure opportunity and sustainability for current and future generations. CFVI is a registered non-profit organization entirely supported by individual donors, grants, trusts, corporate donations and estate planning. For more information, visit
Connect with CFVI!