an interstate agency representing: 
· Indiana  · Kentucky  ·  New York ·  Ohio 
· Pennsylvania  ·  Virginia  · West Virginia

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE                   

July 5, 2017 | ORSANCO |


Contact: Lisa Cochran

Communications Coordinator





The Ohio River Valley Water Sanitation Commission (ORSANCO) elected Stuart F. Bruny of Logan, Ohio as Chairman of ORSANCO. He assumed office July 1. ORSANCO is the water pollution control agency for the Ohio River representing Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Virginia, and West Virginia.

ORSANCO operates water quality programs through representation from its eight member states. Twenty-seven Commissioners are appointed from the member states and the federal government. In addition, numerous ORSANCO committees address specific Ohio River water quality topics and interests. Bruny will serve as Chairman to this extensive network of Ohio River representatives.

ORSANCO has benefited from Bruny's leadership, as he has served many roles within the Commission. In 2014, Ohio Governor John Kasich reappointed him as an Ohio Commissioner for a term ending in June 2020. Bruny was first appointed as an Ohio Commissioner by Governor Kasich in 2012. Prior to serving as an Ohio Commissioner, he was appointed to ORSANCO as Federal Commissioner by President George W. Bush in 2003. During this Federal appointment, Bruny served as Chairman initially in 2007 to 2008. He also served on multiple ORSANCO committees, including serving as Chair of the Technical Committee.

Bruny has an extensive background with environmental policy and water quality issues. For 30 years, he worked for Ohio EPA, holding multiple leadership positions in the agency. He served as Chief of the Southeast District Office, Chief of the Northeast District office, and Chief of the Division of Public Drinking Water.

Bruny is a life member of the Ohio Water Environment Association, the Water Environment Federation, and the Ohio Environmental Health Association. He has received honors related to his work and he provides balanced leadership to complex challenges to environmental protection.

In addition to electing Bruny, ORSANCO also elected Ron Potesta (West Virginia Commissioner) as Vice-Chair and John Kupke (Indiana Commissioner) as Secretary-Treasurer. Potesta is President of Potesta and Associates. Kupke is an ORSANCO Commissioner representing Indiana. 

Stuart F. Bruny

Like us on Facebook    Follow us on Twitter    View our photos on flickr
5735 Kellogg Ave 
Cincinnati, OH 45230
(513) 231-7719
Join Our Mailing List