BookBrowse Logo


Publishing This Week
Hi

Among this week's eleven new and notable books are four debut novels including Big Girl, Small Town by Michelle Gallen which has been shortlisted for the prestigious Costa First Novel Award.

Next week will be the last issue of Publishing This Week for the year as very few books are published in the second half of December.

As you contemplate your holiday gift list, please do consider giving a BookBrowse Gift Membership to your bookish friends and family. It's the gift that lasts all year and costs just $29 (a saving of $10 over the regular rate). You can buy today and we'll email a gift certificate to your recipient on the day you choose. You can also save on a first time membership for yourself.

Very best,

Davina


This Week's New and Notable Books
There are too many books published each week for you to read about them all, let alone read them all. So we do the legwork for you, scouring the publishers' catalogs and the pre-publication reviews to pick out what we believe to be among the best and most interesting. For more about our process, click the two right hand links below.
Big Girl, Small Town
by Michelle Gallen

Debut Author
On sale Dec 1 from Algonquin Books
Genre: Novels. 320 pages
Critics' Opinion: 4/5
Members' Rating: 3.4/5
 
Meet Majella O'Neill, a heroine like no other, in this captivating Irish debut that has been called Milkman meets Derry Girls. For fans of Sally Rooney, Ottessa Moshfegh, and accessible literary fiction with an edge.

A Certain Hunger
by Chelsea G. Summers

Debut Author
On sale Dec 1 from The Unnamed Press
Genre: Novels. 240 pages
Critics' Opinion: 5/5
 
Food critic Dorothy Daniels loves what she does. Discerning, meticulous, and very, very smart, Dorothy's clear mastery of the culinary arts make it likely that she could, on any given night, whip up a more inspired dish than any one of the chefs she writes about.

Read More  |  Buy
Ordesa
by Manuel Vilas

Debut Author
On sale Dec 1 from Riverhead Books
Genre: Novels. 304 pages
Critics' Opinion: 5/5
 
The #1 international bestselling phenomenon - a profound and riveting story of love, loss, and memory.

Read More  |  Buy
Rest and Be Thankful
by Emma Glass

On sale Dec 1 from Bloomsbury USA
Genre: Novels. 160 pages
Critics' Opinion: 5/5
 
A darkly shimmering novel of a nurse on the edge of burnout, by "an immensely talented young writer...Her fearlessness renews one's faith in the power of literature" (George Saunders).

Read More  |  Buy
The Art of Violence: Lydia Chin/Bill Smith Mysteries #13
by S.J. Rozan

On sale Dec 1 from Pegasus Crime
Genre: Mysteries. 352 pages
Critics' Opinion: 5/5
 
In the latest mystery from S. J. Rozan, Bill Smith and Lydia Chin must track down a serial killer stalking women in New York's contemporary art scene.

Read More  |  Buy
Eddie's Boy: Butcher's Boy #4
by Thomas Perry

On sale Dec 1 from Mysterious Press
Genre: Thrillers
Critics' Opinion: 5/5
 
Michael Shaeffer is a retired American businessman, living peacefully in England with his aristocratic wife. But her annual summer party brings strangers to their house, and with them, an attempt on Michael's life.

Read More  |  Buy
Every Last Secret
by A.R. Torre

On sale Dec 1 from Thomas & Mercer
Genre: Thrillers. 302 pages
Critics' Opinion: 5/5
 
Welcome to the neighborhood. Watch your husband, watch your friends, and watch your back.

Read More  |  Buy
Lazarus: Joona Linna #7
by Lars Kepler

On sale Dec 1 from Knopf
Genre: Thrillers. 496 pages
Critics' Opinion: 5/5
 
Sometimes the past won't stay buried.

Read More  |  Buy
The Opium Prince
by Jasmine Aimaq

Debut Author
On sale Dec 1 from Soho Crime
Genre: Thrillers. 384 pages
Critics' Opinion: 5/5
 
Jasmine Aimaq's stunning debut explores Afghanistan on the eve of a violent revolution and the far-reaching consequences of a young Kochi girl's tragic death.

Read More  |  Buy
Mediocre: The Dangerous Legacy of White Male America
by Ijeoma Oluo

On sale Dec 1 from Seal Press
Genre: History, Science & Current Affairs. 336 pages
Critics' Opinion: 5/5
 
From the author of the New York Times bestseller So You Want to Talk About Race, a subversive history of white male American identity.

Read More  |  Buy
Dark, Salt, Clear: The Life of a Fishing Town
by Lamorna Ash

Debut Author
On sale Dec 1 from Bloomsbury USA
Genre: Travel & Adventure. 336 pages
Critics' Opinion: 5/5
 
From an adventurous and discerning new voice reminiscent of Robert Macfarlane, a captivating portrait of a community eking out its living in a coastal landscape as stark and storied as it is beautiful.

Read More  |  Buy

Publishing This Week is one of BookBrowse's four free newsletters. We also publish BookBrowse Highlights every Thursday; and Book Club News and Librarian News monthly.

Change settings and/or update your email address
1-408-867-6500
1-800-745-5306
Copyright 2020