GAC-official.jpg


Client Alert



Puerto Rico COVID-19 Update

Executive Order 2021-062 & Regulation 138-A


  

By: Angel Berberena, Esq.

 


August 6, 2021

 


On August 5, 2021, the Governor of Puerto Rico, Hon. Pedro R. Pierluisi, issued Executive Order 2021-062 (EO 2021-062) extending mandatory COVID-19 vaccinations to all government contractors that provide on-site services and to all employees working in the public or private health sector including hospitals, laboratories, emergency rooms, clinics, health centers, medical offices, therapy centers, blood banks, pharmacies, elder care facilities, medicinal cannabis dispensaries, and others.


The Order also mandates for all employees working at hotels, hostels, or inns to be vaccinated and for guests staying at any of said facilities (including short term rentals like Airbnb, VRBO, Join a Join, and others) to provide evidence of vaccination.


Health and religious exemptions are still available if adequate evidence, which require medical certifications or joint statements, and negative test results are timely provided.


On the same date, the Puerto Rico Department of Health (DOH) issued Regulation 138-A to amend the requirements for health care professionals to issue health certifications. Individuals seeking medical certifications are now required to provide evidence of COVID-19 vaccination (COVID-19 Vaccination Record Card) before a certificate is issued.  Exempt persons must provide sufficient evidence to avoid this requirement.

Goldman Antonetti & Córdova, LLC stands ready to assist you and your business to adjust to Puerto Rico's regulatory and legal changes. If you need further assistance in this area, please contact any of the following members of our Firm:


Angel Berberena

aberberena@gaclaw.com

787.759.4143


Javier Vazquez

jvazquez@gaclaw.com

787.759.4113


Howard Pravda

hpravda@gaclaw.com

787.759.4110


Luis Antonetti

lantonetti@gaclaw.com

787.759.4111


Vicente Antonetti

vantonetti@gaclaw.com

787.759.4112


Romel Meléndez

rmelendez@gaclaw.com

787.759.4115


Luis Ortiz Abreu

lortiz@gaclaw.com

787.759.4110


Gabriel Quintero

gquintero@gaclaw.com

787.759.4130


Disclaimer: Although the information included in this document may concern legal issues, it is not a legal opinion or professional advice and clients shall not use it as such. We assume no responsibility or liability of any kind for any information contained herein, and we expressly disclaim all liability for any claim for damages arising from the use, reference to, or reliance on, such information. If legal or other expert assistance is required, the services of a competent professional should be sought.