Using the ancient technology of Vedic Yagyas
to solve modern day problems.
Dasa Maha Vidya Yagyas

Greetings Yagya Friends!

I thought it would be fun to share some knowledge about the Dasa Maha Vidyas; the 10 forms of the Divine Mother that are at the core of the Shakti/Tantra tradition.

Why perform yagyas for the Maha Vidyas?

Because they are a source of transformational power that can alleviate especially difficult karmas and bring speedy progress toward enlightenment. This month's yagyas bring us into harmony with the different forms of the Divine Mother so that we gain her support and protection throughout the coming year.

The Dasa Maha Vidya are wonderfully mystical in nature and understanding their elaborate symbology is a fascinating study. What follows is an overview of each of the ten Maha Vidyas.
There was a time when Shiva and Parvati had an argument about her father who had failed to invite Shiva to a special yagya. Shiva wanted to go anyway, but Parvati was absolutely against it.
Ultimately, her attempts to pacify him were of no avail, so Parvati split herself into 10 different forms standing in each of the 10 directions. No matter how or where Shiva tried to leave, Parvati blocked his escape.

Each of her forms illustrate a profound essential truth which enlightens Shiva to the limitless power of the goddess and her central role in all aspects of creation.
Raja Matangi Devi
She is the tantric form of Saraswati, the goddess of wisdom.

She represents the Sun and the nakshatras Krittika, Uttara Phalguni, and Uttarashadha.

She controls health issues related to the heart and all government functions, knowledge and the arts.

Her mantra is:
OM Hreem Kleem Hum Matangyai Phat Swaha
Bhuvaneshwari Devi
She is the World Mother; one whose body is the entire cosmos.

She represents the Moon and the nakshatras Rohini, Hasta, and Shravana

She gives relief from mental and physical diseases and lack of good sleep.

Her mantra is:
OM Shreem Hreem Buvaneshwarai Namah
Bagalamuki Devi
She is the goddess who paralyzes enemies.

She represents Mars and the nakshatras Mrigashira, Chitra, and Dhanishta.

She controls police, military, lawyers and judges, the liver, spleen, digestive system, and the elder son/daughter in a family.

Her mantra is:
OM Aim Hleem Krom Hum Phat Swaha
Tripurasundari Devi (Shodasi, Lalitha, Rajarajeshwari)
She is the most beautiful in the three worlds.

She represents Mercury, and the nakshatras Ashlesha, Jyeshta, and Revati.

She is pictured as a 16 year old girl.

She controls technology, dance, music, math, writing and doctors.

Her mantra is:
Aim Kleem Sauh Sauh Kleem Aim
Tara Devi
She is the guide and protector who gives ultimate knowledge, the goddess of compassion and protection.

She represents Jupiter and the nakshatras Punarvasu, Vishaka, and Purva Bhadrapada.

She cuts off our attachments to the world and leads us toward moksha.

She is Rama's peaceful avatara. She is sometimes referred to as Neela Saraswati.

Her mantra is:
Aim OM Hreem Kreem Hum Phat.
Kamala Devi (Lakshmi)
She is the tantric Lakshmi who governs everything enjoyable in life.

She represents Venus and the nakshatras Bharani, Purva Phalguni, and Purva Ashadha.

All comforts and luxuries are under her control. She rules fashion, theatre, software, jewels.

Her mantra is:
OM Aim Shreem Hreem Kleem
Kali Devi
She is the devourer of time and the essence of the Self.

She represents Saturn and the nakshatras Pushya, Anuradha, and Uttara Badrapada.

She makes us face the effects of past life karmas.

She controls all chronic diseases.

Krishna is considered to be the male form of her energy.

Her mantra is:
OM Kreem Kalike Swaha.
Chinnamasta Devi (Chandi)
She is the self-decapitating goddess who sacrifices herself to feed her devotees.

She represents Rahu and the nakshatras Ardra, Swati, and Satabisha.

She is considered to be a form a Parvati.

She rules accidents and unexpected events, doctors and surgeons, sudden fame or loss, herbal cures.

Her mantra is:
Hreem Kleem Shreem Aim Hum Phat
Dhumavati Devi
She is the widow goddess or the goddess of death.

She represents Ketu and the nakshatras Ashwini, Magha, and Mula.

She rules genuine yogis and sadhus. She gives the experience of samadhi.

She controls space travel, R&D, fiction writers, and painters.

Her mantra is:
OM Dhum Dhum Dhumavati Swaha
Bhairavi Devi
She is the fierce warrior goddess.

She represents all nine planets.

She is Time and everything dissolves into her and is recreated.

She is the female form of Dakshinamurti (Shiva).

Her mantra is:
OM Hreem Bhairavi Kalaum Hreem Swaha
Each day during Navaratri our priests perform an elaborate yagya from 7 AM to 1 PM, followed by 2 hours of evening pujas when the Chandi Path Goddess Mantra text is recited along with the 1008 names (Sahasranam) of Lalitha - Tripurasundari; the form of the goddess that combines both beauty and power.