Purdue Wine Grape Team Newsletter
Dear Indiana Winemakers

The 24th INDY International Wine Competition is history and we were pleased to see that our wineries have truly excelled with every vintage. For the first time, a Traminette won the prestigious Wine of the Year trophy, and Indiana's very own Easley Winery made it.

When the Purdue Wine Grape Team introduced Traminette as Indiana's State Signature Variety & Wine in 2008, we could only imagine how well these wines would eventually do in competitions and consequently with your consumers. To confirm its deserving place in viticultural history, Traminette also won this year's American Society for Horticultural Science Outstanding Fruit Cultivar Award, upon nomination by Dr. Bordelon and many support letters from winemakers and growers alike.

Here are the commercial trophies that were won by Indiana wineries this year:

1.  2015 Wine of the Year - Best of Show:   Easley Winery Traminette
2.  2015 Winemaker of the Year: Huber Winery
3.  2015 Indiana Winery of the Year - The Governor's Cup: Huber Winery
4.  2015 Indiana Farm Winery of the Year: Country Heritage Winery
5.  2015 Indiana Wine of the Year: Huber Winery Catawba Rosé
6.  2015 Indiana Traminette of the Year: French Lick Winery

A great way to check out well-crafted examples of local wine styles is to try the Indiana-made wines that won 21 Best of Class medals this year.

*    Best Vineyards 2014 Red Raspberry
*    Butler 2013 Chardonel
*    Country Heritage 2014 Vignoles and 2013 Proprietor's Reserve
*    Easley 2014 Traminette and 2014 Riesling
*    French Lick 2013 Chambourcin
*    Harmony 2014 Copper Tiger
*    Holtkamp 2015 Watermelon
*    Huber 2014 Catawba Rose, Lakeside White, and Moscato
*    McClure's Apple Iced Cider
*    Oliver 2014 Pinot Grigio and 2014 Sauvignon Blanc
*    Quibble Hill 2014 Deladew
*    Schnabeltier 2014 Barr Lake
*    Satek 101 Lakes Red
*    Turtle Run 2014 'Slip My Mind' and 2014 'Lost My Mind'
*    Wildcat Creek Steuben

Also consider the 31 Double Gold medals that were awarded this year!

Again, congratulations on your ongoing success.
We wish you best of luck with this year's harvest!

Christian Butzke                  Jill Blume
Chief Judge                        Executive Director
  INDY International Wine Competition

2015 INDY Judge & Pit Cru
2015 INDY International Wine Competition Judge and Pit Cru
Picture courtesy of Brent Russel Photography

Jeanette Merritt
Christian Butzke

Jill Blume

Bruce Bordelon