Purdue Wine Grape Team Newsletter

The 24th Indy International Wine Competition takes place July 29-31 at Purdue University.  


We encourage you enter your wines by July 15.  Entry forms can be found online or in your mail box.


New for 2015!  All Indiana wineries who enter will receive judge comments and feedback along with your medals and awards.  


Last year Tonne Winery of Muncie won the Governor's Cup (a.k.a. Indiana Winery of the Year)! Tonne had 11 winning wines and their Semi-Dry Traminette was the Indiana Wine of the Year!


Other Indiana winners included:

  • Anderson's Orchard & Winery
  • Blackhawk Winery
  • Brown County Winery
  • Buck Creek Winery
  • Butler Winery
  • Carpenter Creek Cellars
  • Chateau de Pique Winery
  • Country Heritage Winery & Vineyard
  • Easley Winery
  • French Lick Winery
  • Fruit Hills Winery
  • Harmony Winery
  • Huber's Orchard & Winery
  • Lanthier Winery
  • Mallow Run Winery
  • Monkey Hollow Winery
  • Mystique Winery
  • Oliver Winery
  • Owen Valley Winery
  • Salt Creek Winery
  • Satek Winery
  • Shady Creek Winery
  • Simmons Winery
  • The Ridge Winery
  • Trader's Point Winery
  • Two-EE's Winery
  • Whyte Horse Winery
  • Wildcat Creek Winery
  • Winzerwald Winery


I look forward to seeing your wines at the INDY.



Our deepest sympathies to the Pampel family and Whyte Horse Winery.  Dr. Larry Pampel served as a judge at the INDY International Wine Competition for five years and was a treasured member of the Indiana wine family.  In 2006, Larry and his wife, Connie, opened Whyte Horse Winery in Monticello with his brother, Don, and sister-in-law, Denise. 


Thank you Larry, for your humble contributions to the Indiana Wine Grape industry.  Your impact will continue to influence us for many years.  We will miss you greatly.






Jeanette Merritt
Christian Butzke

Jill Blume

Bruce Bordelon