Volume 1 | 2021 | January
QQA Chronicle, 1st Quarter, 2021
In This Edition:
  • 2020 Greater Little Rock Preservation Award Winners
  • Advocacy: The Wilson House and the Murphy-Jeffries Building
  • 2021 Preservation Conversations January-March
  • 2021 Board of Directors
  • 2021 QQA T-shirts & Koozies
  • QQA Gift Memberships
2020 Greater Little Rock Preservation Awards
Donna Thomas & Jennifer Carman

Jimmy Strawn Award
In recognition of their efforts on behalf of Greater Little Rock's architectural heritage which are an inspiration to the entire community.

Peg Smith Award
In recognition of outstanding volunteer efforts for the QQA.
Chuck Cliett

Tom Wilkes Award
By the QQA Board of Directors in recognition of outstanding board service.
Richard C. Butler Awards of Merit
The QQA Board of Directors voted to rename the Awards of Merit after Richard C. Butler to honor his long support for historic preservation and the QQA. Richard passed away in 2020.
Joe Carter

Richard C. Butler Award of Merit
Jackson Rental Houses #1, #2, #3
315, 317, 321 W. Charles Bussey Avenue
Governor's Mansion Historic District
Kimberly & Jay Calhoun

Richard C. Butler Award of Merit
The Robinson-Beal House
1417 Kavanaugh Boulevard
Hillcrest Historic District
Matt Foster

Richard C. Butler Award of Merit
2105 S. Izard Street
Governor's Mansion Historic District
Morgan & Kyle Leyenberger

Richard C. Butler Award of Merit
F.A. Garrett House, 1400 S. Schiller Street
Central High School Neighborhood Historic District
Angela & Bobby Matthews and Lynn Boyd

Richard C. Butler Award of Merit
J. W. Tucker House, 1414 S. Summit Street
Central High School Neighborhood Historic District
Polk Stanley Wilcox Architects

Richard C. Butler Award of Merit
Winchester Auto Store Building
801 S. Spring Street
Did you miss our online membership meeting? If so, you can watch the video by clicking below.
Wilson House, 2313 Center Street
The Capitol Zoning District Commission denied the city's request to demolish the property this past summer. The QQA is working with the owner to identify a non-profit to accept the property as a donation or a buyer to purchase the property. The new owner will initiate a National Register listing of the Wilson House and undertake rehabilitation.
Murphy-Jeffries Building
2901-2903 Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Drive
Myron & Stephanie Jackson, pictured with Belynda Jeffries and Helen Jeffries, have purchased the building from the Jeffries Family Trust. The Jacksons have initiated stabilization and rehabilitation of this significant property.
State Historic Rehabilitation Tax Credits: An Initiative in this Upcoming Legislative Session
Efforts by the QQA and our statewide preservation partner, Preserve Arkansas, are already underway to get the overall state tax credit cap raised. Let us know if you would like to support this important work.
Upcoming Preservation Conversations
January 14: Historic Preservation and Workforce Development by Marshall Ray

Join the QQA for a webinar discussion about jobs in historic preservation with Marshall Ray.

Time: 6:00 pm, via Zoom and YouTube Live

February 11: Historic Rehabilitation Tax Credits by Amber Jones

Join the QQA for a webinar discussion about Historic Rehabilitation Tax Credits.
Time: 6:00 pm, via Zoom and YouTube Live.

March 11: Women's Suffrage in Central Arkansas: People and Places by Kathleen Pate

Join the QQA for a webinar discussion about women's suffrage.
Time: 6:00 pm, via Zoom and YouTube Live.

2021 QQA Board of Directors
The QQA Board of Directors met at their annual meeting on November 18, 2020 to elect new officers. Starting on January 1, 2021, the newly elected officers and new board members will start their terms.

Molly McNulty, President
David Robinson, President-Elect
Ngozi "Nome" Brown, Treasurer
Joshua Ang Price, Secretary
Ann Ballard Bryan, VP Education
Tricia Peacock, VP Development
Angela Sortor, VP Advocacy

Ashli Ahrens
Ian Beard
Chuck Cliett
Amber Crouch
Kenya Eddings
Cecil Ennett
Antionio Figueroa
Angela Boyd Matthews
Jena Selva
Richard Steinkamp
Darius Walton
Doyle Webb
You have the POWER to Preserve Greater Little Rock's Historic Places!
QQA donations and memberships support our educational and advocacy work. Consider making a contribution today.
The QQA now offers donors and members a t-shirt with every donation of $100.00 or more. The shirt, produced at Electric Ghost in SoMa, features the our 2021 motto "Never, Never, Never Give Up." Memberships and donations under $100.00 get two beverage koozies featuring the same image.

Gift memberships entitle members to several exclusive benefits, like free "members only" events. They also get 10% off ticketed QQA events, a QQA koozie, and for those donating over $100, the awesome t-shirt to the left.

Want to join or donate? Click the buttons below.