Dr. Ryan Quarles is the first Kentucky agriculture commissioner to hold office in the National Association of State Departments of Agriculture since Billy Ray Smith served as president in 2001-02. Commissioner Quarles, above far left, was joined at the national organization's Winter Policy Conference 2020 in February by, from left: outgoing President Doug Goehring, commissioner of the North Dakota Department of Agriculture; incoming Vice President Richard Ball, commissioner of the New York Department of Agriculture & Markets; and incoming Second Vice President Doug Miyamoto, director of the Wyoming Department of Agriculture.