June 28, 2017
Communications Manager 
(703) 525-2400
Event photos can be found here. High resolutions images available upon request.
Chamber Holds First Combined State of the County & Public Safety Awards
County Board Chair Jay Fisette provides economic updates; Local heroes honored
Arlington, Va. - The Arlington Chamber of Commerce today held the State of the County & Public Safety Awards, which celebrated Arlington economic achievements, the community's future, and all who make the area an excellent place to live and work. This new breakfast event, which combined two past Chamber events - State of the County and the Valor Awards, began with an address by Arlington County Board Chair Jay Fisette, who highlighted the economic and development status of Arlington. The Chamber then honored public safety personnel and first responders from Arlington County's Office of Emergency ManagementOffice of the Sheriff, Police Department, and Fire Department, who have exemplified extraordinary heroic actions and exceptional performance of their duties.

Arlington Co. Board Chair Jay Fisette delivers State of the County address
"In short, the state of the County is really good. In my view, Arlington works." said Fisette, before a crowd of over 200 attendees. "There is nothing stagnant about Arlington - the only constant is change. I'm very proud of all of us for what we have accomplished over the years."

Fisette went on to offer the following 10 recommendations for County leaders after he retires at the end of 2017:
  1. Maintain Arlington's values and commitment to being a welcoming, inclusive community. 
  2. Work collaboratively and efficiently to use our limited land wisely, as our population grows.
  3. Focus on long-term planning.
  4. Continue to act as a regional leader, especially regarding Metro.
  5. Invest more and find new tools to create and preserve affordable housing.
  6. Maintain fiscal responsibility and never put Arlington's AAA bonds at risk.
  7. Facilitate an even broader civic engagement and seek to find a balance so that a few voices in the community do not dominate and discourage rest of the voices.
  8. Move forward boldly to ensure environmental sustainability.
  9. Stay nimble in order to adapt to the changing business environment.
  10. Ensure that government works for everyone. Remain accessible and also maintain integrity.
2017 Public Safety Award honorees
Following the State of the County address, awards were presented to honor Arlington County's public safety personnel and first responders. 
Eight honorees were recognized for their courageous, often lifesaving actions in the line of duty.  Leadership of all respective departments submitted nominations for Public Safety Award honorees based on their performance over the past year. A selection committee chose the final winners, who were honored at the ceremony. 

The 2017 Public Safety Award honorees are as follows: 

Arlington County Office of Emergency Management
William Flagler - Meritorious Service Award
Arlington County Office of the Sheriff
Corporal Grant Dean and Deputy Matthew Camardi - Life-Saving Award
Chief Deputy Paul Larson - Meritorious Service Award

Arlington County Police Department
Detective Master Police Officer Robert Icolari - Meritorious Service Award
Officer Andrew Schloe - Life-Saving Award
Officer Ryan D. Williams - Life-Saving Award

Arlington County Fire Department
Firefighter Jeffrey Zynel - Meritorious Service Award

Special thanks to our sponsors, including Grand Sponsor  Virginia Hospital Center for making this event possible.
For access to this release and other statements by the Chamber, click here.
To stay up-to-date on the Chamber's latest news, follow us on FacebookTwitter, and Instagram.
ABOUT THE CHAMBER   Follow us on Twitter  View our profile on LinkedIn  Like us on Facebook  View on Instagram
Founded in 1924, the Arlington Chamber of Commerce is a member-centric, volunteer-based, nonprofit organization of over 700 businesses committed to the economic and civic well being of the community. For more information or to become a member, visit the Chamber website.