View our photos on flickr

Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter

View our videos on YouTube
The Formula Car Challenge is a registered trademark of World Speed Incorporated.
29687 Arnold Drive Sonoma, CA 95476

The FCC is the most popular junior open wheel series on Facebook!


With over 2600 fans on Facebook the series has become the most popular junior open wheel series on the internet.


Don't just let the drivers have all the fun! 

If you have photos, videos, or stories about the Formula Car Challenge share them with the whole gang!

Drop Shadow Accent Image
Mazda Powered Racers Tackle a Triple Header Race Weekend at the World Famous Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca


Monterey, CA 
April 16th, 2013


This past weekend twenty FCC competitors entered themselves into the SFR SCCA triple header race event. Usually, the FCC racers have exclusive racing with only their three classes. This weekend however was a very unique event where FCC racers would be joined by a variety of open wheel cars, and a few sports-racers.


"We felt that giving our racers the chance to race at MRLS, and to compete inside an even larger group of cars would be a great opportunity for them," noted Series Official Ben Hettema. "Changing venues, and increasing challenges is a great way to accumulate experience in racing. This type of training is exactly why many of our alumni have gone on to great successes."


The scoring, and qualifying would also be fairly unorthodox. Racers only qualified for the first race. Their starting position for race two was determined by fastest lap in race one. Their starting position for race three was determined by fastest lap in race two. For FCC championship points each driver was scored on their best two out of three finishes.The weather all weekend was perfect, and qualifying got started at 1:30 on Friday.


Class Pole Positions for Race 1
Friday April 12th, 2013

In Saturday's race Michael Whelden took off to a commanding lead only to have an a-arm fail ending his race. Andre Eriksen was able to take the win in the Pro FM class followed by Jim Mali, and Frank McCormick. In the FS2.0 class new comer Jose Armida made Parker Nicklin really work hard for his win. Armida, who is the Mexican 2012 Formula VEE 1800cc champion, is scheduled to race the balance of the FCC season in the FS2.0 class. TJ Fischer won in the FM class, followed by Mel Kemper Jr and Stew Tabak.


Race Winners Race 1
Saturday April 13th, 2013

Sunday's race was a redeeming one for Whelden who took the victory in Pro FM. Nicklin and Armida battled it out in FS2.0, and traded positions multiple times. At the checkered flag Nicklin took the win. The Formula Mazda podium filled out exactly as it had in the first race.


Race Winners Race 2
Sunday April 14th, 2013

  • FM: TJ Fischer

  • FS2.0: Parker Nicklin

  • PFM: Michael Whelden

The third and final race of the weekend was plagued with yellow flags. A total of three full course cautions, followed by restarts made the race a dash for the checkered flag. There were a lot of position changes in the race including Mel Kemper taking over the FM class lead. Later in the race TJ Fischer was able to get back by Kemper making his weekend a perfect three wins in three races.

Race Winners Race 3

Sunday April 14th, 2013

  • FM: TJ Fischer

  • FS2.0: Parker Nicklin

  • PFM: Andre Eriksen

As part of Goodyear Racing's partnership with the series, four of the weekend's drivers won free tires. "Although joining the SCCA open wheel groups is unusual for the FCC, it did go very well.  FCC cars represented 20 of the 32 cars on track and there was some great racing in all three of our classes. We have to thank all of the SFR SCCA workers for all of their hard work" noted World Speed President Telo Stewart. 


Next up for the series is a double header at Thunderhill Raceway Park with NASA Pro Racing on May 18-19. More information on the series can be found at:


Photos from the event... 


Official Results 

Drop Shadow Accent Image
About The Formula Car Challenge presented by Goodyear:
The Formula Car Challenge presented by Goodyear is a regionalized open wheel racing series with an annual national championship. There are multiple regions across the country, and each region has unique features and events. 

Once a year the regions meet for the NASA National Championships. The championship features a multi-class format -Formula Mazda (FM), Pro Formula Mazda (PFM), andthe FormulaSPEED2.0 (FS2.0). All classes are powered by Mazda, and equipped with Goodyear Racing tires. 

Each region is supported by a Region Promoter who is well versed in racing, and who can provide assistance to teams and independent drivers.

The series is partnered with Goodyear,Mazda USAMAZDASPEED Motorsports DevelopmentRed Line Oil, and NASA Pro Racing.

Drop Shadow Accent Image

Goodyear is the most successful tire supplier in Formula One history, with more starts, wins, and constructors' championships than any other tire supplier. Goodyear Racing tires have been on all FCC racing cars since the series' first season (2005.) In 2011 the series partnered with Goodyear to design a new racing car; the FormulaSPEED2.0.

Goodyear is currently the sole tire supplier to NASCAR's top three racing series: Sprint Cup, Nationwide, and Craftsman Truck. Goodyear is also the lone supplier to NHRA's top two series: Top Fuel and Funny Car. Goodyear Racing Tires are computer-designed using state-of-the-art technology and manually-built by highly trained tire builders. The tires are then closely inspected, radial force variation (RFV) tested, and balanced before they're deemed ready for the extreme heat, pressure, and motion of racing. It's that commitment to quality that's allowed Goodyear Racing Tires to propel racers to the winner's circle since 1901.

Visit for more information...