Volume 2 Issue 7 | February 2020
Congratulations to the 2020 Central Illinois High School Varsity State Champions - Decatur Hockey!
The inaugural Central Illinois High School Varsity State Championships took place at Grossinger Motors Arena in Bloomington, Illinois, this past weekend. Decatur defeated Kankakee and McLean overtook Champaign on Saturday, February 22, to advance to the State Championship tilt on Sunday, February 23rd. AHAI congratulates Decatur Hockey on their State Championship title. 
Decatur Hockey
2020 State Champions
Brendan Taylor
Central IL Player of the Year
McLean Sharks
2020 State Runner-Up
2020 Illinois State High School Hockey Championships
By Chicago Blackhawks
In conjunction with the Illinois State High School Hockey Championships, the Chicago Blackhawks are excited to offer AHAI families a special opportunity to meet Blackhawks Alumni and two-time Stanley Cup Winner Bryan Bickell on Saturday, March 21. To participate in the AHAI Bryan Bickell Meet and Greet, click below and purchase your $5 tickets to the Illinois High School Hockey Championships *.
The meet and greet will be held at the United Center from 3:30-5:30 P.M. before the Red Division Championship Game. All other details will be communicated via email one week prior to the game. Please contact the Chicago Blackhawks at 312-455-7090 with any additional questions.
Illinois State High School Hockey Championships Schedule
Girls Division: 3:00 p.m.
Red Division: 6:00 p.m.
Combined Division: 8:00 p.m.
* Please note that this offer is limited to the first 600 tickets purchased through this offer. All tickets to this event are General Admission seating.
Analyzing the 2020 Illinois State Hockey Championship Brackets
The brackets for the 2020 Illinois State Hockey Championships have been announced, so every team is optimistic, at least to a degree, that it will skate for the championship. This is a time for hope, hysteria, dreams, destiny and more.

But only one team leaves our version of March Madness with a smile. In reality, it’s six teams that are happy, as Illinois plays host to six high school state tournaments. In conjunction with AHAI, the Chicago Blackhawks will host the 2020 Illinois State High School Hockey Championships, presented by Chicagoland & Northwest Indiana Chevy Dealers, at the United Center on Saturday, March 21.
Emotions on Ice: League Playoffs, State Tournament Up the Late-Season Excitement
There was a mix of emotions for the New Trier Hockey Program on Sunday, Feb. 23 – joy, elation, celebration and even shock. Let’s start at West Meadows Ice Arena in Rolling Meadows for the 4:50 p.m. game for the Varsity Gold League championship of the North-Central Division. New Trier Gray grabbed a 1-0 edge at 12:45 of the second period on a power play goal by Sean Walker, assisted by Mica Glass. Leyden answered at 11:43 of the third period on a goal by Joshua Galizia, assisted by Kevin Kuzbik. Trey Bess brought elation to the Trevians with his overtime tally, assisted by Jack Farrell.
Optimism Reigns on Co-op Evanston Girls' Team
Hannah Bergom is in her first season as head coach of the co-op Evanston girls’ team, with players representing Evanston Township, Roycemore, North Side College Prep and Francis Parker. The 16-player roster is its largest in several seasons, including six freshmen who made a “huge impact” and certainly setting up the team for a strong future, Bergom said. In fact, Evanston will only lose three seniors: captain Olivia DiPadova (defense), assistant captain Zoe Durston (defense) and goalie Kate Unterseher.
Spartans Excited for Next Season with Key Players Coming Back
The co-op Spartans, with the No. 15 seed in the Illinois High School Hockey State Tournament, saw their shot at glory end Feb. 16 in Romeoville. They lost 3-2 in overtime to the No. 25 Cobras.
The Spartans, though, are already motivated and excited for next season.
Max Janczak, BG/H/W
Having played for the Mount Prospect Patriots and the Glenview Grizzles, freshman Max Janczak was, admittedly, a little timid when his season started on the co-op BG/H/W JV team. The nerves went away quickly. “I have great teammates, coaches and I’m part of a great organization. This is, by far, the most fun I’ve had playing hockey,” said Janczak, 14, who lives in Mount Prospect and attends Hersey High School, one of the team’s three schools, along with Buffalo Grove and Wheeling.
Blackhawk Alumni Announce 2020 Scholarship Recipients
Congratulations go out to Andrew Capuano of St. Rita High School, Olivia Turman of Lake Park High School and Evan Wurzbacher of John Hersey High School on being named the recipients of the 2020 Blackhawk Alumni Association Scholarship.
2020 America's High School Showcase Illinois Team Roster Announced
By Mike Mullally, AHAI Director & Showcase Team GM - This year's America's Showcase tryout teams represented a wealth of talent, making it extremely difficult to choose players for the final 2020 America's High School Showcase Illinois Team roster.

Congratulations to the 20 players on their selection to represent Illinois at the America's Showcase at the Centene Community Ice Center in St. Louis, Missouri, April 16-20, 2020. Additionally, this year's Illinois Showcase Team will also be competing in front of NAHL and NA3HL Scouts at the NAPHL Prep Invitational Showcase March 27-29, at The Edge Ice Arena in Bensenville, Illinois.
Hayes-Suburban Division
Hayes-Suburban Division President, Rob Ince wraps-up the 2019-20 JV and Varsity All Star games in his February update.

The Hayes-Suburban Division also recognizes the 2020 Academic All-Conference Team. Congratulations to all dedicated student athletes recognized for this honor!
Metro Girls League
Metro Girls Co-Vice President, Pam Flores' February update includes recognizing graduating seniors from Loyola Academy, Fenwick, New Trier and Latin, as well as the latest college commitments! Pam also gives a shout out to Caroline Smith (56 points this season) who recently surpassed Loyola Academy Girls' all-time record of 49 points.
Illinois West Division
Illinois West's Brian Meek announces the winners of the Varsity and JV West Cup and Varsity Scholastic and Founders Cup champions. Illinois West still has 2 brackets in play: JV Scholastic Cup and JV Founders Cup.

Illinois West also announced their 2019-2020 Awards for the regular season as well as their JV All Stars. Congratulations to all!