Rule of the Week
July 4th, 2014

Casual Water -- thank you Mother Nature 

With all the rain Saskatchewan has recieved over the past week there have been a few calls an inquires regarding losing a golf ball in Casual Water.  Within this rule here are some items to consider. 

 

Part of Rule 25-1 Abnormal Ground Conditions 

 

Rule 25-1 c. Ball in Abnormal Ground Condition Not Found

It is a question of fact whether a ball that has not been found after having been struck toward an abnormal ground condition is in such a condition. In order to apply this Rule, it must be known or virtually certain that the ball is in the abnormal ground condition.

 

In the absence of such knowledge or certainty, the player must proceed under Rule 27-1 (Lost Ball Rule and proceed back to his previous spot where he played a shot or back to the tee.) 

 

If it is known or virtually certain that a ball that has not been found is in an abnormal ground condition, the player may take relief under this Rule. If he elects to do so, the spot where the ball last crossed the outermost limits of the abnormal ground condition must be determined and, for the purpose of applying this Rule, the ball is deemed to lie at this spot and the player must proceed as follows:

 

(i)Through the Green: If the ball last crossed the outermost limits of the abnormal ground condition at a spot through the green, the player may substitute another ball, without penalty, and take relief as prescribed in Rule 25-1b(i).

 

 

Decision 25-1c/1.5 Clarification of Point Where Ball "Last Crossed Outermost Limits of" Abnormal Ground Condition

 

 

Q.In the diagram, a ball is lost in an area of casual water, having splashed at Point A. Point B represents the point where the ball crossed over the outermost limits of the casual water. For the purposes of proceeding under Rule 25-1c, where is the ball deemed to lie?

 

A.The ball is deemed to lie at Point B.

 

Therefore from the diagram to the right, if the player wants to proceed he will find his nearest point of relief (free relief), from Point B, where he is free from the Casual Water and gets one club length from there to drop the ball.  He may then proceed to the green.

 

If you have questions or comments please contact the Golf Saskatchewan office.

  
Golf Saskatchewan | (306) 975-0850 | info@golfsaskatchewan.org | http://www.golfsaskatchewan.org | Twitter @GolfSK
510 Cynthia Street, Saskatoon, SK, Canada S7L 7K7

Copyright � 2014. All Rights Reserved.