Rule of the Week
Week of August 14 to 18, 2017 

Rule for Ball in Motion Stops on the Edge of the Cup after a Stroke
At the 2017 PGA Championship on Sunday Justin Thomas made a stroke on the 10th putting green and the ball came to a stop overhanging the hole. According to Rule 16-2 which states:
 "When any part of the ball overhangs the lip of the hole,the player is allowed enough time to reach the hole without unreasonable delay and an additional 10 seconds to determine whether the ball is at rest." 

In Justin Thomas' situation the ball fell into the hole approximately 12 seconds after it appeared to have stopped over the lip of the hole. Social media, some amateur rules officials and many spectators questioned the situation Justin because the ball fell in after 10 seconds of the ball reaching the hole and therefore they claimed that the ball would have been at rest and that he should have assessed himself a 1-stroke penalty. They failed to take into account that Justin Thomas is allowed adequate time to assess the stroke he has just made and enough time to make his way to the hole before the 10-second count would begin. 
For this reason Justin Thomas did not violate the rules and did not have to assess himself a 1-stroke penalty according to Rule 16-2 because his ball fell into the hole within the time that he is allowed to reach the hole after making his stroke.    
Below: his ball is overhanging the hole

His ball becomes part of PGA Championship folklore ... Where were you when the ball fell in?

For the video of Justin's putt click here.
Happy golfing and remember the Rules of Golf Matter
About Golf Saskatchewan
As the Provincial Sport Governing Body (PSGB), Golf Saskatchewan will provide leadership in driving participation, engagement, capacity, and excellence in our sport.

Golf Saskatchewan
510 Cynthia St
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan S7L 7K7
Golf Saskatchewan
(306) 975-0850

Authored by Brian Lee, Executive Director of Golf SK

  Follow us on Twitter Like us on Facebook