Rule of the Week
Week of July 17 to 21, 2017 

Rule 25-1c/3 Ball Played in Ground Under Repair Area Lost in Same Area

QUESTION: In the diagram above, a player's tee shot comes to rest at point A in a large area of ground under repair. He/She makes a stroke at his/her ball from within ground repair. He/She advances the ball to point B, which is still in the ground under repair, and the ball never crossed the outermost limits of the ground under repair. The ball cannot be found. What is the ruling?

The player may drop a ball outside the ground under repair area, without penalty, as provided in Rule 25-1c and make his third stroke. In this case, the reference point is where the ball last crossed the outermost limits of the ground under repair with the player's tee shot (point C).
Alternatively, the player may, under penalty of one stroke, drop a ball in the ground under repair as near as possible at the spot from which his original ball was lasted played (point A) under Rule 27-1 and make his/her fourth stroke. Having dropped a ball under Rule 27-1, if the player then has interference from the ground under repair, he may take relief under Rule 25-1b without further penalty.

Happy golfing and remember the Rules of Golf Matter
About Golf Saskatchewan
As the Provincial Sport Governing Body (PSGB), Golf Saskatchewan will provide leadership in driving participation, engagement, capacity, and excellence in our sport.

Golf Saskatchewan
510 Cynthia St
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan S7L 7K7
Golf Saskatchewan
(306) 975-0850

Authored by Brian Lee, Executive Director of Golf SK

  Follow us on Twitter Like us on Facebook