Rule of the Week

July 21, 2015


Decision 17-1/5


Holding the Flagstick with One Hand and Putting with Other Hand




A player holds the flagstick with one hand and holes a short putt, gripping the putter with his/her other hand. Is this permissible?




Yes, provided the flagstick has been removed from the hole and the ball does not strike it. If the ball were to strike the flagstick, a breach of Rule 17-3a would occur. (Match play - loss of hole; Stroke play - two strokes and the ball must be played as it lies.)



Happy golfing and remember the Rules Matter.


About Golf Saskatchewan
As the governing body of amateur golf in Saskatchewan, our mission is to grow participation in, and passion for golf while upholding the integrity of the game.


Golf Saskatchewan
510 Cynthia St
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan S7L 7K7
Golf Saskatchewan
(306) 975-0850

 Follow us on TwitterLike us on Facebook