Rule of the Week
Week of May 1-5, 2017 

In the cute photograph below, a young player receives assistance from his best friend. 
Is this permissible under the Rules of Golf?

DECISION 14-2/2 

Player Holds Umbrella Over Own Head When Playing Stroke
QUESTION - A player playing in the rain holds an umbrella over his head with one hand while holing a very short putt, gripping the putter with the other hand. Is this permissible?

ANSWER - Yes. Rule 14-2a prohibits a player, while making a stroke, from accepting protection from the elements from someone other than himself. However, it does not prohibit him from protecting himself.
Caddie Shields Player from Sun During Stroke
QUESTION - May a player's caddie purposely stand between the player and the setting sun so that the sun's glare is not in the player's face while he is playing a stroke?
ANSWER -  No. Such procedure is a breach of Rule 14-2a.
Penalty for Breach of Rule   14-1  or   14-2

Match play Loss of hole; Stroke play Two strokes.

Happy golfing and remember the Rules of Golf Matter
About Golf Saskatchewan
As the Provincial Sport Governing Body (PSGB), Golf Saskatchewan will provide leadership in driving participation, engagement, capacity, and excellence in our sport.

Golf Saskatchewan
510 Cynthia St
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan S7L 7K7
Golf Saskatchewan
(306) 975-0850

Authored by Brian Lee, Executive Director of Golf SK

  Follow us on Twitter Like us on Facebook