Tin Cup

Rule of the Week
Week of May 15-19, 2017 
Following some fabulous feedback from last weeks Rule of the Week, there was a follow up question(s).
Rule 14-1 Using Club other than Putter on Putting Green?
QUESTION  Is it permissible to use a club other than a putter to play a stroke on the putting green?
ANSWER  Yes, the Rules of Golf do not stipulate the type of club that must be used for making a stroke on the putting green or anyplace else on the golf course.
REMINDER Note  à for a player with limited skill, even though the rules allow, we would not recommend a flop shot from one portion of the putting green to another.  It may begin a conversation with the Superintendent which may not end well.
What if? ....
What about putting with a Rake, the Flagstick or the butt end of a club to hole a short putt?
Rule 14-1. General a. Fairly Striking the Ball
The ball must be fairly struck at with the head of the club and must not be pushed, scraped or spooned.

Decision 14-1a/3 - Putting with Wrong End of Putter
QUESTION  A player misses a short putt and hastily holes the ball with the wrong (handle) end of his putter. What is the ruling?
ANSWER The player incurs a penalty of loss of hole in match play or two strokes in stroke play for a breach of Rule 14-1, which requires that the ball be struck at with the head of the club. In stroke play, the stroke with the wrong end of the putter counts, and, since the ball was holed, the player had completed play of the hole.

Happy golfing and remember the Rules of Golf Matter
About Golf Saskatchewan
As the Provincial Sport Governing Body (PSGB), Golf Saskatchewan will provide leadership in driving participation, engagement, capacity, and excellence in our sport.

Golf Saskatchewan
510 Cynthia St
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan S7L 7K7
Golf Saskatchewan
(306) 975-0850

Authored by Brian Lee, Executive Director of Golf SK

  Follow us on Twitter Like us on Facebook