Mayfair was confronted by a referee following the round, once questioned about the time of his search on the 11th hole, he was then interrogated for the ball movement on hole 17. He admitted his actions moved the ball causing a two-stroke penalty.
After posting a 76 during Saturday's round Mayfair realized he needed to go low in Sunday to be a factor. He never got the chance; Mayfair was informed by Rules officials the search for his ball on hole 11 took 4:50 seconds. He was disqualified.
Remember under the 2019 Rules:
-In 2019, you are allowed three minutes to search for a ball. Upon further review, Mayfair took somewhere between four to just under five minutes to find his ball.
-When he played the ball, it was not his ball in play but a wrong ball under Rule 6.3c (Wrong Ball). After completing the hole and not correcting the mistake, Mayfair was disqualified on the tee shot on the 12th hole. Any additional penalties on other holes were irrelevant.
Rule 6-3c Wrong Ball
(1) Making Stroke at Wrong Ball. A player must not make a stroke at a wrong ball.
Exception - Ball Moving in Water: There is no penalty if a player makes a stroke at a wrong ball that is moving in water in a penalty area or in temporary water:
· The stroke does not count, and
· The player must correct the mistake under the Rules by playing the right ball from its original spot or by taking relief under the Rules.
In Stroke Play
In stroke play, the player must correct the mistake by continuing play with the original ball by playing it as it lies or taking relief under the Rules:
· The stroke made with the wrong ball and any more strokes before the mistake is corrected (including strokes made and any penalty strokes solely from playing that ball) do not count.
· If the player does not correct the mistake before making a stroke to begin another hole or, for the final hole of the round, before returning his or her scorecard, the player is disqualified.
The second Rules infraction on 17th may also be concerning, because he stated, "he did not cause the ball to move, and then retracted it later saying he did." Under Rule 9.4b is where we find the ruling if Hole 11 didn't happen first.
9.4 Ball Lifted or Moved by Player
This Rule applies only when it is known or virtually certain that a player (including the player's caddie) lifted his or her ball at rest or caused it to move.