Rule of the Week
October 2nd, 2015

There have been a couple of questions and comments this year about putting a ball or chipping a ball into the hole while another ball is in the hole at rest.
- Myth #1 ... Players believe the ball is not holed.
- Myth #2 ... Player believes there is a penalty.

Reality Question and Answer:

Holing Ball While Another Ball is in Hole
Question:  Is it a breach of a Rules for a ball to be holed while another ball is at rest in the hole?


Both balls are holed (see Definition of "Holed") and there are no penalties incurred by either player.  It is a breach of Etiquette for the first player to leave his ball in the hole if the second player has asked him to remove it.
Definition: Holed
A ball is " holed" when it is at rest within the circumference of the hole and all of it is below the level of the lip of the hole.

Happy golfing and remember the Rules Matter.

About Golf Saskatchewan
As the governing body of amateur golf in Saskatchewan, our mission is to grow participation in, and passion for golf while upholding the integrity of the game.


Golf Saskatchewan
510 Cynthia St
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan S7L 7K7
Golf Saskatchewan
(306) 975-0850

 Follow us on TwitterLike us on Facebook