Rule of the Week
Week of September 11 to 15, 2017 

Rule for Ball Dropped a Third Time When Placement Required After Second Drop

A player dropped his ball twice under a Rule and each time the ball rolled nearer the hole. He then dropped a third time instead of placing it as required by Rule 20-2c. What is the ruling?

Before making a stroke, the player may lift the ball and place it as prescribed in Rule 20-2c, without penalty (Rule 20-6). If he/she fails to do so and plays the ball, the player has played from a wrong place and has dropped the ball when it should have been place. The player incurs a penalty of loss of hole in match play or two strokes in stroke place for playing from the wrong place (Rule 20-2c and Rule 20-7). There is no additional penalty in stroke play for dropping the ball when Rule 20-2c required it to be placed (see Note 3 to Rule 20-7c)

-Note 3 to Rule 20-7c-

If a player incurs a penalty for making a stroke from a wrong place, there is no addition penalty for:

(a) substituting a ball when not permitted;

(b) dropping a ball when the Rules require it to be placed, or placing a ball when the Rules require it to be dropped;

(c) dropping a ball in an improper manner; or

(d) a ball being put into play by a person not permitted to do so under the rules.


Happy golfing and remember the Rules of Golf Matter
About Golf Saskatchewan
As the Provincial Sport Governing Body (PSGB), Golf Saskatchewan will provide leadership in driving participation, engagement, capacity, and excellence in our sport.

Golf Saskatchewan
510 Cynthia St
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan S7L 7K7
Golf Saskatchewan
(306) 975-0850

Authored by Brian Lee, Executive Director of Golf SK

  Follow us on Twitter Like us on Facebook