Rule of the Week
Week of September 4 to 8, 2017 

Rule for Player Who Misses a Tee Shot Tees Ball Lower Before Making Next Stroke Rule 18-2/1

A player playing from the teeing ground misses the ball completely. The player pushes the tee further into the ground and plays. What is the ruling?

When the player made the stroke, the ball was in play. By pushing the tee further into the ground, he moved the ball and incurred a penalty of one stroke under Rule 18-2 and was required to replace it. However, as the player made his next stroke from within the teeing ground, he played under penalty of stroke and distance and therefore the penalty under Rule 18-2 does not apply.

**Same ruling would apply for pulling the tee out farther before making next stroke.
Happy golfing and remember the Rules of Golf Matter
About Golf Saskatchewan
As the Provincial Sport Governing Body (PSGB), Golf Saskatchewan will provide leadership in driving participation, engagement, capacity, and excellence in our sport.

Golf Saskatchewan
510 Cynthia St
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan S7L 7K7
Golf Saskatchewan
(306) 975-0850

Authored by Brian Lee, Executive Director of Golf SK

  Follow us on Twitter Like us on Facebook