May 13, 2015
My friends and I have an informal, 72 hole stroke play event to see whose game is better. After holing out for par on the final hole of the third round, I dropped a ball and practiced the birdie putt I had just missed.
One of my friends claimed that I should be disqualified for practicing on the course between tournament rounds. Is he right.
Decision 7-2/8 sets out a similar situation. Under Rule 7-2, you may practice putting or chipping on or near the green of the hole last played. The same is true immediately after completing a round, even though such practice is between rounds. If you had left the course and later returned to practice on the 18th green (or elsewhere on the course), you would have been disqualified from the tournament under Rule 7-1b.
Also note, this is provided the Committee has not put in a local rule for the competition prohibiting practicing on or near the competition course.
Happy golfing and remember, the Rules Matter.