June 2019
SCCF Bids Farewell to Outgoing Board Members

SCCF's May board meeting was busy as usual, but there was a celebratory feeling for two board members who wrapped up a combined total of 18 years, 9 years each, of board service at SCCF. Jim Burns has been part of SCCF since its very beginning - he was part of writing the articles of incorporation and original bylaws in 1991! Since then, he served as the Steuben County Fiber Network board chair for four years, guiding the organization as it made challenging decisions about expanding access to broadband in Steuben County. Burns then transitioned to serve as the SCCF board chair for two years. At the final board meeting in May, Burns reflected on the growth of SCCF, including the decision to invest in the fiber network. “I’m sad to not be part of the last chapters of this change, and look forward to seeing what comes next,” said Burns. 

Phil Meyer has also completed his service on the SCCF board of directors. Meyer has served on the grants committee for ten years and helped with scholarship evaluations for three years. He shared, “I’ve learned a lot about philanthropy and community foundations, and that was my goal when I was asked to join. It’s been a privilege and an honor to participate in this board.” 

As a thank-you to both outgoing board members for their years of service, SCCF gave them the opportunity to select a charity of their choice to receive a $500 grant. Jim Burns selected the Community Humane Shelter of Steuben County, and Phil Meyer supported the Therapeutic Riding Center.

Thank you, Jim and Phil!
Jim Burns
Phil Meyer
2019 Scholarship Reception
On Tuesday June 4 scholarship recipients and donors gathered for the annual Scholarship Reception held at the Steuben County Community Foundation. Donors shared stories, and scholarship recipients put a face to the scholarship while discussing their future plans with someone excited to support them. Kourtney Fleckenstein, recipient of the Susie Poor Memorial Teaching Scholarship, shared that the scholarship “means a lot to me because it invests in me as a teacher which means someone already thinks I’ll be great at teaching.” She like many others in attendance was able to connect with her donor and understand the story behind her scholarship. Kerrigan Williams received the Leon Huss Memorial Scholarship, a scholarship for those involved in 4-H, and shared her love of horses and animals with her donor Sharon Huss. To read more about the event, click the link below.

Sharon Huss and Kerrigan Williams are pictured together above.
Welcome, Brittany!
Brittany Miller, a 2017 alumna of Angola High School and Forever Improving Steuben County Together (FIST), joins the Steuben County Community Foundation this summer as Youth Philanthropy Intern. Brittany served for five years in FIST, and later joined a philanthropic leadership board at the Dekko Foundation, where she created trainings and materials for youth philanthropy organizations all over the United States. Brittany is currently a junior Psychology major at Manchester University. While at Manchester, Brittany stayed connected to the community and worked on research with the Community Foundation of Wabash County. She looks forward to applying her new knowledge to help Steuben County grow.
Thank you to our donors!
The Community Foundation would like to thank the individuals, families, and organizations who generously made donations in May 2019 .  Your support is appreciated!
Donations can be made:
 Online through the Donate Now button
Mailed to 1701 N Wayne St, Angola, IN 46703
Or brought into the office Monday through Friday 8:30 - 4:30
Jim Burns, Chair
Randy White, Vice Chair
Julie Troyer, Secretary
Doug Bomba, Treasurer
Kathy Armstrong
Dave Goodwin
Pam Harger
Jim Ingledue
Phil Meyer
Adam Miller
Brenda Shipe
Chris Snyder
Jaime Walker
President & CEO

Office Manager 

Program Officer

Communications Director
 The Steuben County Community Foundation has a Notary Public on staff.
Contact   Sandy Ferrell  for details
Philanthropy Quote of the Month:
“No one has every become poor by giving.”
-Anne Frank

The Steuben County Community Foundation is confirmed in compliance with the  National Standards for US Community Foundations.