April 2019
SCCF Grant Supports Early Childhood Education for 2 More Years
In March 2019, Steuben County Community Foundation committed two more years of grant funding to improve the number and quality of daycare and early childhood learning options in Steuben County. SCCF has partnered with Early Childhood Alliance (ECA), a Fort Wayne based nonprofit who is recognized as a leader in the early childhood care and education field in northeast Indiana. This additional funding is part of almost $45,000 that SCCF has invested in early childhood education in Steuben County over the last 3 years. With this grant, ECA will continue to offer classes for Steuben County childcare staff to work towards their Child Development Associate (CDA) credential, as well as networking events, professional development, and capacity building grants.

“SCCF is working with experts in the field, but all the grant funds are designated to directly benefit local childcare providers across the entire area of Steuben County. The board is excited by the progress made so far, and we look forward to continuing to help address this crucial need in the community,” said Jennifer Danic, SCCF President & CEO.

Read more here .

Pictured is Brooke Ridenour of Heaven Sent Preschool and Day Care with Achaiah McCue. Heaven Sent is one of many Steuben County programs working to take advance on Indiana's state rating system, Paths to QUALITY™.
Donor Spotlight - Joyce Gutstein
Joyce Gutstein’s passion for nursing led her to a establish scholarship at SCCF to pay it forward to other students entering the profession. After high school, Joyce received a scholarship to study nursing, which became a lifelong passion when she worked for the Infant Welfare Society in Chicago and later helped establish Well Child Clinic in Angola. Joyce established the Alfred R. and Joyce E. Gutstein Nursing Scholarship at Steuben County Community Foundation after her husband passed away in 2011, with the goal of paying it forward to other students who have a passion for nursing. Today, Joyce remains active as a member of the Cameron Hospital Auxiliary and in her church, Angola United Methodist. “I grew up in a household that believed in the verse ‘to whom much is given, much is expected,’ and as I have been able to do so, I have been giving back.” 

Read more about Joyce Gutstein here .
May Nonprofit Networking Event

As a thank-you to Steuben County's nonprofit community, SCCF invites local nonprofit leaders to attend a networking event at Scoops, Ice Cream. SCCF will pay for the ice cream in exchange for the sharing of ideas about ways we can work together to make our community better.

More information about the networking event and upcoming nonprofit trainings here.
National Standards Confirmation

SCCF recently completed the process to reconfirm compliance with National Standards for U.S. Community Foundations. Standards include best practices for policies and procedures as well as transparency and capacity building. This accreditation demonstrates SCCF's commitment to operating at the highest legal and ethical standards as recognized by community foundations across the country.
Thank you to our donors!
The Community Foundation would like to thank the individuals, families, and organizations who generously made donations in March 2019 .  Your support is appreciated!
Donations can be made:
 Online through the Donate Now button
Mailed to 1701 N Wayne St, Angola, IN 46703
Or brought into the office Monday through Friday 8:30 - 4:30
Jim Burns, Chair
Randy White, Vice Chair
Julie Troyer, Secretary
Doug Bomba, Treasurer
Kathy Armstrong
Dave Goodwin
Pam Harger
Jim Ingledue
Phil Meyer
Adam Miller
Brenda Shipe
Chris Snyder
Jaime Walker
President & CEO

Office Manager 

Program Officer

Communications Director
 The Steuben County Community Foundation has a Notary Public on staff.
Contact   Sandy Ferrell  for details
Philanthropy Quote of the Month:
“No one has every become poor by giving.”
-Anne Frank

The Steuben County Community Foundation is confirmed in compliance with the  National Standards for US Community Foundations.