FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE                    
                                                                                    Contact: Elise Bender 
(703) 766-1712

Jagat Narula, MD, PhD Receives 2016 Society of Cardiovascular Computed Tomography Arthur S. Agatston Cardiovascular Disease Prevention Award 

Vienna, VA (May 19, 2016) - The Society of Cardiovascular Computed Tomography (SCCT) proudly announces Jagat Narula, MD, PhD as the recipient of the 2016 SCCT Arthur S. Agatston Cardiovascular Disease Prevention Award, recognizing individuals whose pioneering efforts have saved lives from the leading killer throughout the world, heart disease.
The award will be presented to Dr. Narula in Orlando, Florida at SCCT2016 - the 11th Annual  Scientific Meeting of the Society of Cardiovascular Computed Tomography.
SCCT recognizes Dr. Narula for his lifelong contributions to disease prevention in the field of cardiology, in particular for his work in prevention of myocardial infarction and heart failure through novel imaging techniques. His pioneering research has combined molecular and subcellular imaging with clinical imaging of the failing myocardium and high-risk coronary atherosclerotic plaques. Dr. Narula's contributions have been fundamental in developing innovative strategies for prevention of cardiovascular disease: uncovering the phenomenon of heart muscle cell suicide, vastly improved detection of atherosclerotic plaques likely to cause acute heart attacks, and many other advances.
Dr. Narula is Chief of Cardiology at Mount Sinai St. Luke's and Mount Sinai West Hospitals of Mount Sinai, as well as a Professor of Medicine and Radiology at the Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai and the Associate Dean at the Arnhold Institute for Global Health at Mount Sinai.
Currently Editor-in-Chief of the Journal of the American College of Cardiology:
Cardiovascular Imaging and Executive Editor of the Journal of the American College of Cardiology, Dr. Narula has written over 1,000 research publications or presentations and edited more than 25 books and special journal supplements. His research has contributed to development of new noninvasive imaging techniques in areas such as describing the phenomenon of apoptosis (programmed cell death) and the vulnerability of atherosclerotic plaques.
"SCCT hopes that recognizing individuals such as Dr. Narula, for leadership and vision in preventing heart disease, will be a catalyst to inspire the next generation of physicians and researchers to do even more. As we did with infectious diseases like polio and small pox, we can eradicate the killer heart disease," commented Jack A. Ziffer, PhD, MD, FSCCT, Past President of SCCT and Chair of the Arthur S. Agatston Cardiovascular Disease Prevention Award Selection Committee. Dr. Ziffer further noted that "Dr. Narula has improved healthcare on a global scale, and it is a privilege to honor him with this award."
Dr. Arthur Agatston, the award's namesake, is a visionary and pioneer in the field of noninvasive cardiac imaging and one of the world's leading preventive cardiologists. His scientific work, first reported in 1991 with Dr. Warren Janowitz, resulted in the Agatston Score, a method for screening patients for coronary artery disease by measuring the amount of calcium in the coronary arteries. The Agatston Score is currently used throughout the world and considered by many experts to be the single best predictor of future heart attack. To help his cardiovascular and diabetes patients improve their blood chemistries and lose weight, Dr. Agatston also developed The South Beach Diet, a #1 New York Times bestseller. Currently, Dr. Agatston serves as the Medical Director of Wellness and Prevention at Baptist Health South Florida.
Past recipients of the SCCT Arthur S. Agatston Cardiovascular Disease Prevention Award include: 
  • Awarded 2011:
    • William P. Castelli, MD, FSCCT of The Heart Center of MetroWest in Framingham, Massachusetts, Awarded 2011
    • Scott M. Grundy, PhD, MD, FSCCT of the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center in Dallas, Texas, Awarded 2011
  • Sanjay Gupta, MD, FSCCT Neurosurgeon, Author, and CNN Chief Medical Correspondent, Awarded 2012
  • Valentin Fuster, MD, PhD, FSCCT of the Mount Sinai Medical Center, New York, New York, Awarded 2013
  • Prediman K. (PK) Shah, MD, FSCCT Professor of Medicine at Cedars Sinai and UCLA, Awarded 2014
  • Awarded 2015:
    • Arthur S. Agatston, MD, FSCCT, Medical Director, Wellness & Prevention, South Beach Preventive Cardiology Baptist Health South Florida
    • Bruce Brundage, MD, FSCCT, Heart Institute of the Cascades
    • Matthew J. Budoff, MD, FSCCT, Professor of Medicine, UCLA. Endowed Chair of Preventive Cardiology Program Director, Division of Cardiology, Los Angeles Biomedical Research Institute
    • Tracy Q. Callister, MD, FSCCT, Founder, Tennessee Heart & Vascular Institute, P.C.
    • Harvey Hecht, MD, FSCCT, Lenox Hill Heart & Vascular Institute
    • Warren Robert Janowitz, MD, JD, FSCCT, Medical Director and Chief, Nuclear Medicine, Baptist Health System, Radiology Associates of South Florida
    • Paolo Raggi, MD, FSCCT, Chair of Cardiac Research & Director, Mazankowski Alberta Heart Institute
    • John A. Rumberger, PhD, MD, FSCCT, Director of Cardiac Imaging, The Princeton Longevity Center
SCCT is committed to offering support through research, education for physicians and dissemination of information for the general public on the options available for the prevention of coronary artery disease.
About the Society of Cardiovascular Computed Tomography  
SCCT is the professional society devoted exclusively to cardiovascular computed tomography. The Society is acknowledged and recognized as the representative and advocate for research, education and clinical excellence in the use of cardiovascular computed tomography. For more information on the society's mission and goals, please see the SCCT website at

#             #