MAY 2019
Mehran Pourzanjani,SE

SEAOSC: New Awards and Events

Traditionally, the year-end President’s Dinner has included different award recognitions and the transition of the Presidential gavel. The Excellence in Structural Engineering Awards recognizes outstanding projects that are unique and innovative. The various individual awards recognize the contributions and accomplishments of SEAOSC members that have gone above and beyond the call of duty in giving to the association and the profession. This year we will be expanding our awards program by starting a new tradition with a change in the format of our President’s Dinner and year end events. The new Safer Cities Gala and President’s Dinner will feature the “Excellence in Structural Engineering Awards” and the “Safer Cities Awards” which will recognize leaders in the industry, or public arena that have made outstanding contributions towards Safer Cities or the advancement of the industry. This new format will provide an opportunity to broaden the scope of the event by inviting architects, contractors, owners, policy makers, and building officials to celebrate the recognition of a colleague or share in the award for a project that they participated in. The long term vision for the President’s Safer Cities Gala is to build it into a premier industry event with an expanded scope of attendees. Members are encouraged to invite industry associates to celebrate their award winning projects and share in their accomplishments as part of a team. We will be hosting the Safer Cities Gala and President’s Dinner at the Biltmore’s Gold Room. This year ABC 7 Anchor David Ono will serve as the emcee.

2019-2020 SEAOSC Board of Directors
The SEAOSC Nomination Committee, chaired by Past President Jeff Ellis, S.E. has announced the following slate of nominations for the 2019-2020 Board of Directors:
Treasurer: Kelsey Parolini, S.E., SSG Structural Engineers, LLP.
  • Henry Burton, Ph.D., S.E., University of California, Los Angeles
  • Kim Caravalho, S.E., Brandow & Johnston, Inc.
  • Victor Cuevas, P.E., Los Angeles Department of Building and Safety
  • Tom Harris, S.E., California Code Check

Election results will be announced at the June 5, 2019 SEAOSC end of the fiscal year Annual Awards & President’s Dinner. The newly elected directors will take office July 1, 2019 for a two-year term. Thank you to the following members of the Nominations Committee who selected nominees in accordance with the procedures outlined in the Bylaws, Article VI, Section 1 .

Jeff Ellis, S.E., Simpson Strong-Tie; Chair
Matt Barnard, S.E., Degenkolb Engineers
Sandra Biddulph, S.E., DCI Engineers
Jeff Crosier, S.E., Miyamoto International, Inc.
Alan Hanson, Retired
Maria Mohammed, P.E., Structural Focus
Ken O’Dell, S.E., MHP, Inc. Structural Engineers
Bob Lyons, S.E., Risha Engineering Group, Inc.; Alternate/Observer

In Memory

Brian Cochran, SE 1356, passed away April 27. Brian began his engineering career in Los Angeles in 1956. He started his own consulting structural engineering firm in 1971 in West Los Angeles and maintained his practice until 2006 when he merged his company with Weidlinger Associates, which has since merged with Thornton Tomasetti. Brian retired from engineering in 2016. During his career, Brian served on the SEAOSC Board of Directors and was SEAOSC president from 1999-2000.  In 2007 he was made an honorary member of SEAOSC and in 2010 he was inducted into the SEAOC College of Fellows. He was also an Emeritus Member and past president of the Los Angeles Tall Buildings Structural Design Council. Services are being held May 18th, you may contact the family directly if you would like further information.  
Member Spotlights
Name: Shinhee Chang, PE  
Job title: Senior Engineer
Company:  Nabih Youssef & Associates Structural Engineers
Member since: 2014

Favorite Movie: King’s Speech

Proudest Accomplishment: Winning 1 st place for Living Building Challenge LA Student Competition during Masters (leading interdisciplinary CPSLO student team)

Childhood Ambition: Building a house with my dad from scratch

First Job: Tutor

Current SEAOSC Role: SEAOSC Education Committee Member

Why Join SEAOSC?: This is where the leaders of the structural engineers shape our practice and industry. Each structural engineer brings valuable voice to where we are now and where we are headed toward.
Name:  Aaron Malatesta, PE
Job title: Western US Technical Sales Manager
Company: Taylor Devices, Inc.
Member since: 2018  
Favorite Movie: Forest Gump

Proudest Accomplishment: NYC Marathon  

Childhood Ambition: Win an Olympic gold medal for swimming

First Job: Swim Coach

Current SEAOSC Role: SEAOSC Education Committee Member

Why Join SEAOSC?: Contribute to the growth of our profession and collaborate with other professionals with similar interests 
Welcome New Members
Eric Ahlberg, UCLA Civil & Environmental Engineering
Laura Mino, Arup
Snehal Kadam, HNTB Corporation

Benjamin Perez, Specialized Testing, Inc.

Young Associate
Adeleine Tran, Langan Engineering & Environmental Services
Watry Design, Inc. - Structural Engineering Project Manager