JULY 2022
COMMUNICATION BRIEFINGS
FEATURED ARTICLE
UPCOMING EVENTS
SATURDAY, AUGUST 6 @ 12PM ET / 11AM CT / 9AM PT
TUESDAY, AUGUST 9TH
7pm eastern / 6pm central / 4pm pacific
TUESDAY, AUGUST 19TH
7pm eastern / 6pm central / 4pm pacific
NEWS & UPDATES
CAAM GRADUATION

The National Convocation and the Black Disciples Endowment Fund celebrate the 2022 Certificate in African American Ministries graduates.

The inaugural graduation was held at Crestwood Christian Church on June 10. Rev. Dr. Bill Lee served as the graduation speaker. The 2022 class includes: Oscar Banks IV, Dale Braxton, Sr., Melvia Carter, William Clyburn, Jr., Calvin Curry, Jeremy Gillett, Gertha Marcellus, Timothy O'Neal, Jr., Michael Paige, Sr., George Pinkard, and Cassandra Smith.
Gratitude and jubilation is also extended to the visionary leaders and stewards of the CAAM program at Lexington Theological Seminary including Rev. Dr. Charisse Gillett, Rev. Dr. Kris Bentley, Rev. Dr. William Lee, and Rev. Dr. Loida Martell. Learn more about CAAM here.
DCHS CALLS DR. JOEL BROWN AS PRESIDENT

The DCHS Board of Trustees has called Joel Brown, Ph.D., University of Chicago, to be the next President of the Disciples of Christ Historical Society. He begins his tenure in September and follows Dr. Rick Lowery who is retiring. An excellent scholar with a particular interest in the role of religion in public life, Dr. Brown brings a deep commitment to justice and equity and a concern to tell the stories of groups and individuals often not acknowledged in past historical scholarship. Read more HERE.
MINISTRY RESOURCES
Pension Fund invites you to attend The Gathering, a biennial conference that helps you connect with other pastors as you join together to learn and discuss spiritual, health, and financial wellness.
Join the NBA Social Entrepreneurship team during the month of September for the annual SENT Seminar.
Disciples Church Extension Fund (DCEF) is offering loans of up to US $50,000 for technology upgrades to help qualified congregations pivot to a stronger online presence moving forward.
Faiths United to Save Democracy (FUSD) is a nonpartisan, multi-race, faith, and generation 2022 voter
justice campaign. It is rooted in the belief that everyone is created in the image of God and deserves to
vote their convictions in free, fair, and safe elections.
Our attention is called to pressing matters around us. Those matters have increased by the day! Our influence and resources are sought to nurture good in the world. We can do this best in partnership with the Spirit. Drawn from scripture, be encouraged by this deskside guide on the Spirit.
LEAR MORE
IN MEMORIAM
EMPLOYMENT OPPORTUNITIES
Learn more about available positions across the Christian Church here on our website in addition to the opportunities featured below:
CONNECTIONS