SMHEC's Crisis Management team is responsible for the development and execution of the SMHEC Mutual Aid Agreement that enables SMHEC member institutions to provide a variety of resources to another member institution and ensure business continuity in the event of an emergency situation or natural disaster.

Members of the Crisis Management Team
  • Corey Ochall, Campus Dean, DeVry University
  • James McGee, Interim Director of Public Safety, Governors State University
  • Art Martinez, Director, Public Safety, Illinois Institute of Technology
  • Edward Vasil, Environment Health and Safety Management, Joliet Junior College
  • Rich Soderquist, Director, Facilities and Campus Safety, Kankakee Community College
  • Joseph Falese, VP, Student Services, Lewis University
  • Patrick O'Connor, Chief of Police, Moraine Valley Community College
  • George Pfotenhauer, Chief of Police, Prairie State College
  • Darrell Parks, Police Commander, Saint Xavier University
  • William Sheehy, Emergency Management Director, Saint Xavier University
  • Jack Touhy, Director & Chief of Police, Saint Xavier University
  • Leonard Chiaro, Chief of Police, South Suburban College
  • Justin Papp, Manager, Student Programs, South Suburban College
  • Jason Reid, Director, Safety, Security, and Transportation, University of St. Francis
  • Jason Williams, Director of Public Safety and Security, University of St. Francis

Getting To Know The Team
In this issue of SMHEC Today!, we interviewed Jason Williams, Director of Public Safety and Security for the University of St. Francis and Joe Falese, VP of Student Services at Lewis University to learn more about their individual roles as part of the consortium, the mutual aid plan as a cooperative agreement, and the issues specific to their campuses.

Interviews by: Nikelda Cave, Administrative Assistant, SMHEC