March 2019 Newsletter
CALL OF THE FOREST EVENT
JOIN US!
Sunday, March 24 from 2 pm – 4 pm at the Parksville Civic Centre.  
Come and see our book display relating to forests, trees, and enjoying our natural environment.
STAFF PICKS
RACHAEL'S PICK
The Age of Light
by Whitney Scharer
Is it “possible to reconcile romantic desire with artistic passion?” This is the question Vogue model Lee Miller grapples with when she moves to Paris and finds herself involved with famous Surrealist artist Man Ray. Miller, a pioneer in photographic technique, went on to become a first-rate war photographer. An engrossing, sexy novel that sweeps the reader into the glamorous art scene in 1930s Paris and the stark battlefields of World War II.
MARIANNE'S PICK
By Chance Alone
by Max Eisen
More than 70 years after the Nazi camps were liberated by the Allies, a new Canadian Holocaust memoir details the rural Hungarian deportations to Auschwitz-Birkenau, back-breaking slave labour in Auschwitz I, the infamous “death march” in January 1945, the painful aftermath of liberation, a journey of physical and psychological healing.

This holocaust memoir is the inspirational and heartbreaking story of survival against all odds. An important book with a message of hope in the face of devastation and suffering. Highly recommended.
JAN'S PICK
The Widows of Malabar Hill
by Sujata Massey
An historical mystery based on the first female lawyer of India in the 1920’s. It has been a very long time since I sat down to read and was instantly captivated by the world and the characters an author created. Fascinating.
TOM'S PICK
The Secret Wisdom of Nature
by Peter Wohlleben
Nature is full of surprises: deciduous trees affect the rotation of the Earth, cranes sabotage the production of Iberian ham, and coniferous forests can make it rain. But what are the processes that drive these incredible phenomena? And why do they matter? 

This is the final book in his series, The Mysteries of Nature. Thought provoking, with many surprises in store. Great reading!
LEIGH'S PICK
Homes
by Abu Bakr Al Rabeeah
with Winnie Yeung
Homes is the remarkable true story of how a young boy emerged from a war zone - and found safety in Canada - with a passion for sharing his story and telling the world what is truly happening in Syria.

I appreciated the honesty and innocence of this young man’s story. It helps us to understand life in places and circumstances so foreign to us.
BARB'S PICK
The Great Happiness:
Stories and Comics
by M.A.C. Farrant
M.A.C. Farrant, one of my favourite Canadian humorists has done it again, with her latest witty, delightful collection of 70 miniature fictions and comic drawings, each one a combination of narrative, prose poem, and jest. This is a book I’ll pick up time and again, now and in years to come, to enjoy her “steady devotion to the absurdity of daily life."
TICKETS
COAST TO COAST
WITH JIM PAYNE & FERGUS O'BYRNE

FRIDAY, MARCH 8TH
7:30PM

KNOX UNITED CHURCH,
PARKSVILLE

TICKETS: $30.00 EACH
SPRING 2019 CONCERT FOR THE GREATER VICTORIA POLICE CHORUS

SUNDAY, MARCH 24TH
2PM

KNOX UNITED CHURCH,
PARKSVILLE

TICKETS: $17.00 EACH
SPRING FASHION SHOW
featuring clothes from Close to You
Ladies Fashions

SATURDAY, APRIL 13TH
2PM

KNOX UNITED CHURCH,
PARKSVILLE

TICKETS: $20.00 EACH
ROTARY CLUB OF QUALICUM BEACH
17TH ANNUAL WINE FESTIVAL & ART SHOW

SATURDAY, APRIL 13TH

QUALICUM CIVIC CENTRE

TICKETS: $40.00 EACH
NEW RELEASES
Paperback Fiction
Into that Fire
by M J Cates

Fans of Ian McEwan and Paula McLain will fall for this absorbing novel about love and madness, the toll of the First World War and family secrets, and an extraordinary woman's struggle to succeed in a man's world.
The Last Romantics
by Tara Conklin

In the spring of 1981, the young Skinner siblings lose their father to a heart attack and their mother to a paralyzing depression, events that thrust them into a period they will later call “the Pause.” Caught between the predictable life they once led and an uncertain future, the siblings navigate the dangers and resentments of the Pause to emerge fiercely loyal and deeply connected. 
Sofie & Cecilia
by Katherine Ashenburg

This is the story of a lifelong female friendship, set in the fascinating art world of Sweden between 1900 and 1940, just as modern art and the beginnings of the Scandinavian mid-century modern design movement were inspiring a creative revolution across northern Europe. Loosely based on the lives of celebrated artists Carl Larsson and Anders Zorn.
The Reckoning
by Linda Spalding

In the spring of 1855, John Dickinson is involved in a shameful secret that will require a tragic decision. The family's resources have been wasted by a reckless brother who holds all of them hostage and, adding fuel to John's desperation, the enslaved workers have been visited by a Canadian abolitionist who pushes them to escape.
The Philosopher's Flight
by Tom Miller

The first book in a new series,  The Philosopher’s Flight  is an epic historical fantasy set in World-War-I - era America.

Eighteen-year-old Robert Weekes is one of the few men who practice empirical philosophy - an arcane, female-dominated branch of science used to summon the wind, heal the injured, and even fly. He’s always dreamed of being the first man to join the elite team of flying medics, but everyone knows that’s impossible: men can barely get off the ground.

The American
by Nadia Dalbuono

When Detective Leone Scamarcio is called to an apparent suicide on the Ponte Sant’Angelo, a stone’s throw from Vatican City, the dead man's expensive suit suggests yet another businessman fallen on hard times. But Scamarcio is immediately troubled by similarities with the 1982 murder of Roberto Calvi, dubbed ‘God’s Banker’ because of his work for the Vatican Bank.
We are OPEN 24 Hours
sleepy_beagle_glasses.jpg

Shop our online store now!



Search through over 8 million book listings by author, title, keyword or subject. You can order online, and pick up in store. Try it today!
NEW NON-FICTION
George Garrett: Intrepid Reporter
by George Garrett
Autobiography
Girl, Stop Apologizing
by Rachel Hollis
Self-Help
Canadian Gardener's Guide
3rd Edition
by Lorraine Johnson
Gardening
Modern Lunch
by Allison Day
Cookbooks
Vegetables, Chickens
& Bees
By Carson Arthur
Gardening
The Threat: How the FBI Protects America in the
Age of Terror and Trump
by Andrew G. McCabe
Biography/Politics
Or stop by to shop at:
PARKSVILLE STORE

#102- 280 East Island Highway
Parksville, BC V9P 2H6

PHONE:  250-248-1193
EMAIL : mulberry@shawbiz.ca

HOURS
Monday - Saturday 9:30am - 5pm
Sunday 10:30am - 4:30pm
QUALICUM BEACH STORE

130 2nd Avenue,
Qualicum Beach, BC V9K 1S8

PHONE:  250-752-9722
EMAIL : mulberryqb@shawbiz.ca

HOURS
Monday - Saturday 9:30am - 5pm
Sunday - 12pm - 4pm
Great Book Giveaway
We all know getting something for free these days is pretty unusual. That's why we love giving away a free book each month to a wonderful customer and recipient of our monthly e-newsletter.

This month our lucky winner will receive, a Signed Copy of The Last Romantics , by Tara Conklin,
a $33.50 value.
  
Congratulations.....
GAIL BYERS