Governor Kim Reynolds spent the day at the STEM Summit. Her dedication to STEM has changed how schools and industry work together and provided students with reasons to live and work in the state as they look beyond high school.
Inspiring Day at the STEM Education + Workplace Partnerships Summit

The event on April 30 brought together leaders from education, business, nonprofits, and students from across Iowa to share, explore and expand ideas around work-based Learning.  Students from two North Central STEM Regional school programs, Nevada Central Elementary Makerspace and Work-based Learning in the Elementary School – St. Mary’s Parish & School, presented their projects during the Speed Showcase.  The afternoon featured the speaker, Dr. Peggy Whitson, NASA astronaut and Iowa native, who shared her story of setting her sights high early in her career, hard work and preserverance.  Dr. Whitson holds the U.S. record for most cumulative time in space and served as Chief of the Astronaut Corps from 2009 to 2012.
NASA astronaut Dr. Peggy Whitson delivered the afternoon keynote.
Congratulations to Lenihan Intermediate

Computer Science is Elementary Awards were announced by Gov. Kim Reynolds on April 30 at The STEM Education + Workplace Partnerships Summit. Lenihan Intermediate in the Marshalltown Community School District is the recipient of the award in the North Central STEM Region. The school will receive a $50,000 grant to become a model of innovation in computer science instruction. The goal of the award is to create opportunities for students and a statewide network of computer science expertise.
2018-2019 SCALE-UP Educators:
deadline to submit annual evaluations is  MAY 30, 2019 .

Two evaluation tasks are expected of all educators under the award agreement for the STEM Scale-Up Program through the Governor's STEM Advisory Council.
1) Educator Survey: The educator survey is to be completed at the end of the STEM Scale-Up Program. An email invitation with link to the educator survey will be sent to you in the Spring. This link is unique to you to help us direct reminder emails and to stop additional reminders once you have completed the survey. To request a link, contact Brandi Geisinger, .
2) Student Participant List: The student participant list is to be completed at the end of the STEM Scale-Up Program (access code is in the Excel Template).
Additional information and detailed instructions can be found in the one-page Overview at the link above.
Questions about the Educators Survey? Please contact Brandi.
For a full overview of evaluation instructions, visit
Dr. Kelly Bergman
Iowa State University
1259 Stange Rd
Ames, IA 50011-1002

Phone: 515-203-7247


ISU Teaching Science Course visits the NC STEM Hub

Dr. Nelson of the School of Education and 22 students in her elementary science course visited the STEM Hub in April. The students took time to familiarize themselves with the STEM Hub Resources and provided feedback on STEM materials. 
Coming Soon: Family Math Night Kits 

Interested in planning a Family Math Night in the 2019-2020 school year? The North Central STEM Hub will have math night kits to check out. Each kits has materials to serve 120 K-5 students and their families. The Hub will have two kits available for educators to check out. Contact the STEM Hub to reserve materials.
Upcoming Youth STEM Opportunities
Cyber Security Summer Camp for Girls at ISU, June 6

STEM InCYte Camp at ISU, June 10-14

ISU Engineering Kids Day Camps in Marshalltown, June 21 and 25

NIACC STEM Camp, July 10-12

Explore FIRST® LEGO® League Jr. (FLL Jr.) Camps, Various dates in July

More information on summer opportunities can be found on the STEM Hub Resources page:

Have an opportunity to list on our website: contact us
2018-19 NC STEM Advisory Board

Lindsey Falk, St. Ansgar
Ashley Flatebo, Garner
Doug Jacobson, Ames
Sara Nelson, Ames
Michael Pedersen, Marshalltown
Ben Petty, Conrad
Kathy Rogotzke, Mason City,
Sarah Rosenblum, Marshalltown
Camille Sloan Schroeder, Boone
Kerry Weig, Nevada
Nancy Woods, Boone
Richard Wrage, Boone
Michael Young, Ames
David Zrostlik, Garner