MAY 2018 

Our annual RTWC Membership meeting on Wednesday, April 18 saw record attendance!  We greatly appreciate the many good questions and conversations with those who were present. Special thanks to Dr. Randy Cronk for his excellent talk and to Orrville High School for once again making their auditorium available to us.  
At the April 18 Membership Meeting, Don Noble II, RTWC Board President and Treasurer of the Ohio to Erie Trail Board, presented RTWC Board Treasurer David Lehman with a check for $15,000, a grant from the Ohio to Erie Trail Board. We are very grateful to OTET for their support on the Heartland Trail project.
Don Noble II welcomed our Guest Speaker, Dr. Randy Cronk, who shared many of his cycling experiences and tips for Tending the Trail: From Then to Now and Into the Future - The Kokosing Gap Trail, Inc.  


Election of Officers, 1 Year Term
President - Don Noble II    Vice President - Ted Short
Secretary - Katie VanZile   Treasurer - David L. Lehman

Election of Trustees, 3 year term
Tom Bahl, Shreve  Becky Jewell, Orrville  Paul Vance, Orrville

Order of Business: Change to RTWC By-Laws, approved.
Article IV, Section 2, Paragraph 1, Sentence 4 amended to read.
"There shall be a minimum of three and a maximum of 12 (up from 9) Trustees as determined by the Board."

Phil Grimm shared comments on the Sippo Valley Trail.
Keith Winkler shared comments on the County Line Trail.
Becky Jewell gave updates on The Heartland Trail project. 
Welcome New RTWC Board Member Paul Vance

Paul Vance grew up in Smithville and has lived in Orrville for the past 20 years. He just concluded a 10-year term on Orrville City Council and is now serving on the Orrville Utilities Board. He also serves on the Orrville Historical Society board, Orrville's Market West committee, and is a member of the Wayne County Republican Central Committee and Executive Committees. He has been employed at Mennonite Mutual Insurance Company since 2005.

Paul has been married to his wife Belinda for 28 years and they have 3 grown children, Derek, Justin, and Ryan, who all reside and work in the area. They enjoy riding their tandem bicycle on Wayne County's rail trails and exploring other trails in the region.

Shirts, Hats, Bottles and Books!
Inventory of Shirts is Running Low - Buy your size now!
We also have a few Youth tee shirts in Small and Medium sizes.

To place an order for any of the above, send an email to with your request.
Options: Free pick up in Orrville - or -  shipping charges may be added.  Thank you! 

$30,000 contributed since our April E-News!
Thank You for Your Support! 
558 Yards to Go ~ $145,000 needed.
Your gifts go straight to work on saving an old railroad line, turning it into a vibrant path for all to enjoy! 

Send your tax deductible donation to 
RTWC, PO Box 1566, Wooster, Ohio  44691
Include your name, mailing address and email address.
QUESTIONS?  Contact Don Noble II at 330.264.2111 or Becky Jewell at 330.201.1908


Thank you to Maria Hostetler for this photo taken in Orrville.

Rails-to-Trails of Wayne County Board Members
President: Don Noble II, Shreve   
Vice President: Ted Short, Wooster 
Secretary:  Katie VanZile, Marshallville
Treasurer: David L. Lehman, Orrville 



Tom Bahl, Shreve             Susan Baker, Creston    
Pat Glessner, Sterling       Phil Grimm,  Kidron       
Becky Jewell, Orrville       Jenni Reusser, Orrville

Paul Vance, Orrville.         Keith Winkler, Sterling     

Keith Workman, Orrville