March 8, 2019
Congratulations to all Site Honoree
Teachers of the Year and SVUSD Finalists!
  The Artist of the Year Awards are presented by the OC Register in partnership with the Orange County Department of Education. Once nominated, the students submitted an application that included videos of performances, samples of artwork and wrote essays about how they developed a passion for their craft. SVUSD congratulates all the nominees and their teachers. Seven SVUSD students have been chosen by the OC Artist of the Year Arts Panel to advance to the semi-finals where they will present their work and be interviewed by industry professionals and university faculty members in their arts area through the month of March.
SVUSD Visual and Performing Art Student Finalists (Teachers)
**Indicates Semi Finalist, Continuing to Compete

2D Visual Arts
Maya Davis (Sherri Sieb)
Judith Garbers (Sherri Sieb)


2D Visual Arts
Sage Taber (Jeb Berry)

3D Visual Arts
Josh Henslick** (Jacque Fait)

Alyssa Cornejo (Taylor Finnerty)
Alyssa Johnson (Taylor Finnerty)
Jordan Murillo (Taylor Finnerty)
Melody Rosa (Taylor Finnerty)
Gaby Teh (Taylor Finnerty)
Melissa Wainschel (Taylor Finnerty)

Instrumental Music
Benjamin Lopez (Andrew Julian)
Lea Velasco (Andrew Julian)
Grant Wilson (Andrew Julian)

Alyssa Gauss (Taylor Finnerty)
TJ Lynn (Taylor Finnerty)
Delaney Miller (Taylor Finnerty)
Eric Natividad (Taylor Finnerty)
Sophia Quartucci (Taylor Finnerty)
Angelina White (Taylor Finnerty)


2D Visual Arts
Abigail Schweizer** (Loni Gallo)
Elsa Schweizer** (Loni Gallo)

3D Visual Arts
Mya Onishi** (Erin Lopes)

Chloe Lukas (Susan Lord)
Jacob Tapia (Susan Lord)

Vocal Music
Anna Valencia (Steven Donohue)


Jacob Beaver (Lisa Goins)

Instrumental Music
Jordan Feng** (Doug Meeuwsen)

Jenna Bowman (Lisa Goins)
Emily Boyer (Kathy Harris)
Ethan Cox** (Kathy Harris)
Rachel Golkin** (Kathy Harris)
Adnan Maksoud (Kathy Harris)
Charlie Massey (Lisa Goins)
Aidan Mella (Kathy Harris)
Sarah Smith (Lisa Goins)
Seadona Taloma (Lisa Goins)

Vocal Music
Anneliese DiCamillo (Sarah Norris)
DELE Diploma Ceremony at Laguna Hills High School
Forty seven Laguna Hills High School students were recognized on Wednesday, February 27, for passing the DELE exam (Diploma of Spanish as a Foreign Language) last May. The exam certifies the degree of competence and mastery of the Spanish language, granted by the Ministry of Education, Culture and Sport of Spain. As a DELE center, Saddleback Valley Unified School District is proud to support our students’ preparation for a global society. The DELE’s international recognition will assist them in getting jobs while it is also prestigiously regarded in business and universities worldwide. Award recipients were congratulated by Mr. Bill Hinds, Principal of Laguna Hills High School; Mr. Michael Marzilli, the school’s Assistant Principal of Guidance and Curriculum; Mrs. Laura Ott, Assistant Superintendent; Dr. Ron Pirayoff, Director of Secondary Education; Mr. Mark Pérez, Director of Communications and Administrative Services; Mr. Cristóbal Gutiérrez Carrera, Education Attaché and Josu Baque Ugarteburu, Education Advisor, both dignitaries from the Consulate General of Spain; Dr. Rowena Mak, Coordinator of Services for English Learners Department; Mr. Rich Freda, Principal of Los Alisos Intermediate; Mrs. Karin Fortt, District Bilingual Resource Teacher; and LHHS TWI Teachers. Parents also received invitations to attend the ceremony which took place in the Laguna Hills High School Theatre. Go, Hawks!

Over the past 16 months, the District has completed various steps to prepare a new Facilities Master Plan (FMP) . Our vision, SV Innovates is to create successful students for a world yet to be imagined. Having a master plan for our facilities assures that our investments are able to support our students’ Next Generation Learning. The District invites you to the next round of FMP Community Meetings for an update and where you will be able to provide additional input, review school site needs and cost estimates.
During the current school year, textbooks for the subjects and grade levels listed below are being reviewed and will be recommended for a pilot for use in SVUSD schools for the 2019-2020 school year. The full implementation of adopted materials will be for the 2020-2021 school year. Materials being considered for adoption will be on display for parents in Room 5 at the SVUSD District Office in Room 5. It is anticipated that recommendations for piloted materials will be finalized in May 2019. Input from parents is a valuable part of the adoption process.
ACSA Administrators of the Year
Congratulations to Yvonne Estling, Principal Gates Elementary and Glenn Giokaris, Principal K-12 Virtual Academy for being honored as Association of California School Administrators (ACSA) Administrators of the Year!
Employment Opportunities
SVUSD has an array of employment opportunities available throughout the year. The positions represent openings across the district and various divisions. All SVUSD openings can be accessed through the following EdJoin link, which is updated regularly:
Mar. 4 - Mar. 29
Apr. 15 - Apr. 19
now - May 30
Elementary School Choice Window
Spring Recess
Elementary School Showcases (Selected Sites)
Dr. Crystal Turner

Board of Trustees
Suzie R. Swartz
Vice President
Dr. Edward Wong
Amanda Morrell
Barbara Schulman
Greg Kunath
Student Board Member
Jacob Walker
               Board of Education Meeting Dates
The Saddleback Valley Unified School District Board of Trustees encourages community members to attend and participate in its business meetings whenever possible.
Closed session board business is typically conducted at 5:00 p.m. followed by open session business typically beginning at 6:00 p.m. Meetings are held in the SVUSD Education Center Board Room located at 25631 Peter A. Hartman Way, Mission Viejo.